Beautifully Sublime

in #beautifulsunday6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the #beautifulsunday challenge, hosted by @ace108 and for #sublimesunday by @c0ff33a.

When all my kids and grandkids we're here for the Thanksgiving holiday they helped decorate my house for Christmas for me.

They put up my tree and even set up my Christmas Village. I haven't bothered to set up the village in several years, because it is so much work to get the pieces out of the boxes, and it's even worse putting it all away again after the holidays. But it has been great to see them all again!

image

image

I was given the first four houses as a gift in the early-80s and over the years I have purchased a few more houses and accessory pieces.

image

My son cut the piece of mirror so that the village could have an ice skating pond.

image

image

Department 56 is a U.S. manufacturer known for its lit Christmas village collections. It is owned by Enesco and based in Eden Prairie, Minnesota. They have several different Villages, the pieces I have are from the Original Snow Village collection.

image

image

We will all be together to celebrate Christmas over the week of the New Year- so I will have plenty of help putting everything away again.

image

Shadow Photo Contest Round 47- Letters, Numbers and Words



Posted with eSteem

if you want to try using eSteem, but have questions, feel free to ask! I'd be happy to help!

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobileiphone& PCcomputer app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobileiphone
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PCcomputer
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Howdy Melinda! oh my gosh that village is so cute! And I don't even say the word cute.lol..very super clever and cool too. Is that your house in the last picture? And what kind of glass are the blue vases?

Thanks! That is a photo at the front door of my house.
The glass is usually referred to as Cobalt glass. I have a few nice pieces but the story behind that is that when my kids were little and we lived up north in the woods there was an old Farm dump back behind the house that the kids discovered and began doing their own little archaeological dig. They found lots of Rusty Treasures, but they would also come across old milk of magnesia bottles and old Vicks bottles and they would bring them home to me as if they had found the greatest treasure. I had some window sills in the basement that I could set the bottles on and they looked quite Charming there. Then we moved and I had to find a different place to put the blue bottles. They ended up on a breezeway windowsill. Well people started seeing my blue bottles and saying oh you like blue bottles? I have a blue bottle that I can bring you and before I knew it I had far too many blue bottles. When I moved into this house I had two big windows in the living room that didn't require blinds, because no one could ever see in them, but I wanted to do something to break up the big black window square at night and so I put the blue bottles on the windowsill here.

ha! what a great story Melinda! I love that. But weren't what I saw in that one picture vases? I collect Czecholslovakian art glass vases that's probably why they caught my attention. Oh, and your house is gorgeous!

I do have some really nice pieces that I have gathered along the way. Yes, some vases.

I do love my house. It's 2 bedrooms and two baths, and is perfect for me. Everything is on one level & my laundry room is right off the kitchen. I have had ramps built over the thresholds where there was a step down so I can manage to get around on my scooter easily. Even the closets are big enough that I can drive into them on my scooter. Everything is very accessible, just what I need!

That is so cool and wonderful Melinda. Well that picture looks like it could be in a magazine or something it's so perfect, what a warm and inviting photo!

Thanks so much.... I think I'm going to begin wrapping things up here and head to bed. I'll talk to you tomorrow

ok thanks for the great commenting, it really helped to catch up tonight!

Yay! With the new updates you can see the leaderboard now too!

Buenas noches mi amiga @melinda010100 deseándole que haya tenido un exelente domingo. Las imágenes compuestas por esas figuras se ven espectaculares allí si se disfruta la verdadera navidad como lo era antes en mi país , y gracias a Dios tiene a sus hijos y nietos que la ayudan a adornar y a guardar todo al terminar la navidad . Que tenga una linda noche.

It is a very nice villa. It's great that the guys help you

They made setting it up fun and and they did it in no time!

Remarkable collections!! And so lovely to have helps from your families to constuct them, the mirror is a very good idea! Very heart warming, thanks for sharing!

Thanks so much! When my son and his wife were helping to set up the village it was fun to have him explain to her how he had cut the glass for the ice skating pond. He was still in high school when he did that and it was cute to see that he is still very proud of it

Lovely! Really setting the mood for the holidays.

thanks so much! I really appreciate the resteem, too!

Of course. You’re welcome.

linda colección de motivos navideños,adornando cada sitio,muy lindas fotos la navidad es muy bonita y alegre.Saludos que pase una feliz noche y un lindo amanecer .

¡Muchas gracias! Siempre agradezco tus comentarios. ¿Alguna vez pudiste establecer la estima en tu computadora / teléfono?

Que bonito los detalles que adornan su hogar saludo la Navidad es muy bonita y alegre aunque en veces trae nostalgia ya sea por un pariente que se haya ido a otro país,o haya muerto saludos desde Venezuela

Será una época triste para mí porque mi esposo murió en enero de hace dos años y fue muy malo en Navidad. Tengo que recordar todas las buenas navidades que tuvimos juntos. Gracias por tus amables palabras.

That could be a lot of fun with a good macro lens! Love the whole light-up windows and all. I bet that leaves a nice, warm glow in the room!

It sort of reminds me of when I used to work for nuns and they would put a display of nativity scenes from around the world out every year. One time, they had me photograph them all.

When they weren't looking, I made an entire nativity set out of pipe cleaners and put it out there. They were pretty impressed, when they spotted it! lol

Wish you were here to take photos. A pipe cleaner nativity scene for nuns! What can I say!

Wish you were here to take photos. A pipe cleaner nativity scene for nuns! What can I say!

ah Dept 56. I remember it well. Started as a part of Bachmans legendary Minneapolis florist and garden shop. Quite the big deal when we were living in Minneapolis.

I had never heard of it when I was gifted the first four houses! And even then, since we didn't have the internet, it was rather impossible to do any research about any of it . I just like them . They have become rather valuable as the years have gone on since they are four of some of the very first houses. I think everything that I have has been retired long ago. I haven't bought anything new in at least 15 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48