CREDIT VALLEY CONSERVATION FOR BEAUTIFUL SUNDAY 🌸😊🌸

in #beautifulsunday6 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Steemians,

It was a beautiful weekend in the middle of August when I visited Ratrray Marsh Conservation Area. As you can see from the photos, it is a little bit wild, yet tranquil place where Ontario nature can thrive peacefully. Well, except when annoying photographers like me come for visit, but I got bitten by bunch of mosquitoes as a payback so we are even, lol. Nevertheless, I took lots of photos and I only wish I had a better camera. Hopefully next year!

I guess these two lovely Monarch butterflies don't need a special introduction. They were quite a sight when I sported them enjoying this fragrant flower and I was happy they didn't fly a way and let me capture their beauty.

1.jpg

2.jpg

Bridges are the way to walk trough here and this is the one at the very beginning.

3.jpg

This imgage gives you an idea of the landscape and in the distance where the marshland ends are actually private properties.
4.jpg

Most of the flowers growing here are quite common yet very pretty wild flowers such as Corn Flower and Impatiens Capensis also called Spotted touch-me-not.
5.jpg

I took many photos of Spotted touch-me-not, but I don't really like any of the photos. These cute flowers are so tiny and strange looking that I am having hard time capturing their beauty the way I see it in reality. For some reason they always look like the Rolling Stones symbol on most of my photos, lol. But not on this one!

6.jpg

I have quite a story about this photo that is not taken with my camera, because it was impossible. As I was walking on the bridge and admiring everything around me, I couldn't believe I am seeing such a big spider. I had no idea we have spiders like this in Canada. However, according to Wikipedia, this spider is not so unusual as I thought and it can by found in gardens. Argiope Aurantia also called Yellow Garden spider is actually not even that dangerous as it looks. However, you cam read more about that if you follow the link. The story I am going to tell you is about
this photo.

As I mention at the beginning, I was not able ti take a very good photo with my camera, mainly because I was on the bridge and the spider was about five feet away from the bridge in hanging on her spiderweb in the tall grass. I was very disappointed that I couldn't come closer and I almost gave up, when I saw a young couple walking towards me. The man was obviously a photographer, because he was holding huge camera. When they came closer, I approached with the smile and pointing at the spider while explaining how desperate I am. When they saw my tiny humble Canon, they understood my problem and took a photo of the spider for me. I gave them my email address and shortly after I received this photo. I am really happy meting these nice people and having not only this wonderful photo, but interesting story to tell as well.
7.jpg

There was lots Elderberries along the bridge but they were not totally ripe yet and too far to reach.
8.jpg

There were also areas without marshland but with woods instead. I was thrilled to see a Red Cardinal with his lady, but she was gone before he was.
9.jpg

Thistle is a very popular flower among butterflies and bees which you could see pretty much everywhere.
11.jpg

And here it is, my second attempt this summer to photograph dragonfly, in this case, the Whitetail . This rascal was literally playing game with me. I was moving so carefully, trying to get little bit closer, but soon as I made two steps closer, she flew further a way, exactly the same distance as I she was before, lol.
12.jpg

This is the distance how far she was. I took few photo by zooming out but they are not what I was hoping for.
13.jpg

The Hickory Tussock Moth Caterpillar was much easier to photograph, although this cute creature is not suited for petting, lol. I just found out online that you can have a severe allergic reaction from touching it.
14.jpg

This guy was having a feast on this huge leaf and he wasn't bothered by me, too much lol.
15.jpg

Rosebay Willowherb are also very common wild flowers that look beautiful up close and from afar.
16.jpg

Well I am sure you are all familiar with the infamous stinky bug also called a Shield Bug, lol.
17.jpg

18.jpg

I find these purple berries quite pretty, unfortunately I have no idea what is their name. I was looking online for a while but I got nothing :(
19.jpg

And now I am going to say goodbye with our famous Canadian Goldenrod that wasn't in the full bloom yet. I hope you enjoyed my visit in our Credit Valley Conservation area, which by the way goes much further then I was able to cover that day. Next time I will take a differnet path and will see what I am going to discover there.
20.jpg

This is my entry for the #beautifulsunday challenge, hosted by @ace108 and for #sublimesunday by @c0ff33a.

PHOTOS TAKEN WITH CANON ELPH 300

THANK YOU FOR VISITING Lena's Photography
Collage.jpg

Sort:  

So pretty pictures!! lovely insets ❤😊❤ I Love It So Very Much; very beautiful flowers with colors. it gives the whole scene a new feeling. Well done!

Thank you so much my Dear, I am happy you like it 🌸😊🌸

most welcome my dear friend lenasveganliving, fun sunday ❤👩❤

beautiful photos dear, I would not fly away in front of you 💖

Thank you so much Dear Heidi, you are so Sweet 🌸😊🌸

What a beautiful day you had. I love finding new creatures in nature. Your photos are as always lovely dear Lena! That spider was indeed quite a find, so nice of that couple to share a photo with you ;) And of course the beautiful monarchs... so colorful and dainty

Thank you so much my Dear, I am happy you enjoyed my photos and the spider story. I always love to read your lovely comments 🌸😊🌸

Looks like a nice peaceful place to walk. Seems no lighted path there. So, I guess that's why visitor welcome during daylight.

Thank you so much my Friend, you are right it is a very peaceful place, but only for daytime visits 🌸😊🌸

You're welcome

This is such a wonderful and complete walk with you on this beautiful sunday of middle summer my dear... ! I can imagine you spotting every living critters and plants with your canon, and also having someone else taking the impossible shot for you...LoL ...^_^
It was undoubtedly a pgdnss1ylq.png

Thank you so much my Dearest Barbara, you are very sweet 🌸😊🌸

How did you get those monarchs to open their wings simultaneously in that first photo! I've never been able to get that to happen. it is a gorgeous photograph.
I have taken lots of pictures of forget-me-not blossoms and they never turn out right either when I look at them I think they look like tiny orchids, but my photos never show how beautiful they are. The Rolling Stones symbol!! Bwahahahaha!!
So glad you found a fellow photographer who could get your garden spider shot. It's beautiful !
We picked elderberries last week and made jam! My
daughter-in-law made blinchiki this morning for breakfast and I had elderberry jam on them they were delicious!
Look up beauty berries...That may be what your purple berries are. I'm not sure though.

Your insect photos are great. What a wonderful walk with you!!

Thank you so much Dear Melinda; I am happy you enjoyed my walk. It was my lucky day with those Monarchs; I was surprised myself! And I am glad I am not the only one who has the same experience with the Touch-me-not, lol. They do look like tiny orchids in reality, but very difficult to capture that.
Oh, yes I did came a cross the beauty berries online, but I am really not sure if that's what I found. Oh well, it is a mystery for now, lol.
Oh my gosh blinchiki with elderberry jam ??? That sounds scrumptious!!!

Remarkable captures @lenasveganliving I particularly love your butterfly images. What an amazing nature reserve to enjoy. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful blog with us my friend. (U & R )

Thank you so much Dear Trudee, you are very Sweet 🌸😊🌸

Always a pleasure dear Lena.

A very beautiful Sunday indeed!!

Thank you so much Oleg, you are very kind 🌸😊🌸

Am I the only one who’s seeing the upvote button in the foliage in this one?? :-o

Thank you 🌸😊🌸

Absolutely stunning, your photography is quite incredible and the close up so amazingly crystal clear. So many incredible insects, that Spider is truly unique and what an amazing colour! The dragon fly is so amazing, and so is the Cricket. A truly wonderful and amazing set of quality photographs.

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing trip through Rattray Marsh Conservation Area for your #SublimeSunday, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

I am so happy you enjoyed it @c0ff33a and thank you so much for your friendly comment 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59417.60
ETH 2672.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44