Beautiful Sunday - Rainbows Over The Ocean

I was over the moon with excitement when I witnessed this magnificent, colourful and radiant rainbow arch across the blue sky just above the ocean, a day before returning home from my holiday at the sea.

20170818_143336.jpg

Two weeks ago my boys decided to take me to the ocean on holiday for my birthday. I have never seen a rainbow shining on 3 different days in less than two weeks, you are lucky if you experience a rainbow once a year, I guess it was my present from up above.

On our third day, we happened to see our first rainbow but it was way too high so I had to take two photos from both angles (the two photos beneath). The second rainbow we witnessed on the seventh day, we could only see the one end of it but it was still beautiful (last photo). I was lucky to catch a full rainbow (seen in the main photo) while looking out my window on the third floor on the tenth day of our holiday.

20170817_163326.jpg

Rainbows are visible in the section of the sky directly opposite the sun when the dispersion of light takes place. We observe this multicoloured bow in the sky when white light of the sun reflects on the tiny water droplets in the air. Each droplet is like a tiny prism, dispersing and reflecting light. Refraction occurs while the white light enters the drop and travels inside to the other side and exit as a specific colour. A total internal reflection takes place inside the drop, the white light breaks into seven colours (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet) inside it. The angle of each colour is different as they enter the rain drop at different speeds. The colours you see in the rainbow is based on the angle between your eyes and the sun, each colour has a different angle between 40 and 42 degrees.

20170817_163416.jpg


Image Credit

20170818_172053.jpg

When the rainbow arching high
Looks from the zenith round the sky
Lit with exquisite tints seven

Caught from angels' wings in heaven,
Double, and higher than his World
The wrought rim of heaven's font,
Then may I upwards gaze and see the deepening intensity
Of the air-blended diadem . . .
Ending in sweet uncertainty 'twixt real hue and phantasy.

— Gerard Manley Hopkins, 'II Mystico', ll. 107-15, 121-2

Enjoy a fabulous week!!

Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!

Sort:  

Rainbows are always so beautiful to see. The colors are amazing and fun to experience. When I moved to Hawaii, I had been amazed by how many there were. I guess being surrounded by water will do that. Even our University of Hawaii has the rainbow as a logo on some of its teams.

Thank-you for your information on rainbows and the lovely poem. I hope you had a wonderful birthday and a good break from everything. Happy Belated Birthday to you! :D

Thank you very much cabbagepatch. I needed this little get away and am quite refreshed and ready for the months ahead. When ever you speak about your country I have this yearning to go and experience its beauty, maybe one day. Enjoy a lovely week!!

Glad that you got that very needed vacation!

it s a nice photos! I like the rainbow in the sunny day, today me also i went to the sea, it was very great day, swimming, playing with my daughter, smelling fresh air, it's unforgettable weekend.

Thank you for your comment creativewomen. There is nothing better than Vitamin sea.

Beautiful sight with rainbows.... i hope i see like

so wonderful photo . I like it because i have never seen this picture thanks for sharing this picture. please up vote and follow.

Amazing. Nice picture. In our place, the rainbow is often referred to as "ulue raja timoh". I do not know how the term was born. We are prohibited from pointing to the rainbow that up until now the reason for the ban is unreasonable, such as being able to make a pointing finger or causing death.

Thank you for sharing this with us acehpungo, good for us to know if we ever visit your country.

Oh boy, those are gorgeous, @crazymumzysa

really miss the beauty of the sea now that I live in Gauteng

I can only imagine fred703. Every time when on holiday at the coast I wish I could make it my permanent residence, maybe one day this dream will become a reality. Enjoy a wonderful evening!

Amazing shot @crazymumzysa, the rainbow over the sea looks so cool and beautiful, i haven't saw the rainbow from quite some time but today finally i saw it in your post, thanks for sharing

Thank you adnanrabbani, glad I could make your day!

When I was young, I believe there was a pot of gold where the rainbow arc begin. I want to find it but the odd is rainbow last only a couple minute.

MMmm the things our parents make us believe....... Thank you for this comment cloudspyder.

wow nice photographs and specially when you framed the rainbow the surrounding colour was awesome . I wish if i could roam in this place like you

Thank you jackorobin, I was lucky to be at the right place and at the right time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70