Beautiful and Sublime Sunday in Greece!

in #beautifulsunday6 years ago

It's Sunday night to me. The time to tell about a beautiful Sunday and at the same time sublime. Sublime if anything comes out of patterns, if something unexpected happens. I understand that it is OK to tell stories happening a week ago so I will write about last Sunday on the island of Thassos in Greece.

mlmndrowrv.jpg

All the days in Thassos were wonderful, but that Sunday ... It started very normally with the breakfast prepared by the patrons of the small hotel where I lived.

A Greek coffee, not too strong and then going for a walk.It was not an ordinary walk. Our hosts have recommended us to visit an old traditional village, Kastro, at the top of the mountains.

After half an hour we reached the village. On the way I made a lot of photos, I met a few goats ... very photogenic. When I arrived in the village I also made a lot of happy pictures that I will have what to show from this walk.
Here comes the sublime side, I know it does not match the term, sublime in an unpleasant way for me ... actually the camera was defective, actually the memory card, the result being that I have no photos.

So, to illustrate the story, I will appeal to my wife's photos. That means I will appear in some photos and apologize for that.

Kastro

qsz5dby2pq.jpg

Kastro is the oldest settlement on the island and is located at an altitude of 500m. In the village there is the church of Saint Athanasios wich was built in 15th century. Kastro was designated as a historic monument in 1880. The Church is in the photo above.

All the houses in the village, the old ones and the new ones are built only from stone. Let me show you some.

eenc4bkrv1.jpg

b9e948sl0j.jpg

auyhuvykcz.jpg

o4ngswf6b0.jpg

2zivrtvkzh.jpg

Although all the houses were very cared for, my impression was that they were not inhabited...

The old church was locked, I could not enter, but the feminine curiosity is great.

hkdzdeys6l.jpg

x3yyjes4h8.jpg

Surrounding the landscape is special and spectacular.

3b6n7wyvkc.jpg

xt6gr6p25t.jpg

Of course, any such trip ends at the tavern. Each village has its tavern.

s599ubp9b3.jpg

ojts24vd4a.jpg

I ate something but coffee didn't inspire confidence. We decided to go down to the seaside where we know a place with very good coffee.

The Coffee

tso3eq6mmi.jpg

3493j9b2gp.jpg

54k3trpdwf.jpg

When you see fresh roasted coffee, appetite increases. Although it is a small, unsolicited shop, the proprietor prepares a very tasty and strong coffee.

i43e0st64a.jpg

pkhpfcm3ln.jpg

0ge5zgvqwe.jpg

After coffee we are rejuvenated and ready for more ride. We want to catch the sunset on the seashore.

s26xy227qc.jpg

4iazpft8bx.jpg

7rarownyxb.jpg

It was a long day, beautiful and tiring. We are hungry. Hunger makes me stop seeing well. Everything is like a fog. I have to get to the tavern as soon as possible.

7zkehuk6pq.jpg

We eat every night at the same tavern. Old and rustic, with tables on the street. With the best Greek food. With the most amazing patrons. A wonderful atmosphere that I will not forget soon.

5atzisk646.jpg

ielfcsxugl.jpg

nbzrfjagws.jpg

s05gmnil2c.jpg

7vgauyb88e.jpg

vh8iip33me.jpg

We finished eating, we get tired and must go to the hotel to sleep.

pt1kneu2cl.jpg

Beautiful and sublime Sunday in Greece!

m5rdff5rlq.jpg

Inspired by #sublimesunday a tag from @c0ff33a and #beautifulsunday (hosted by @ace108) plus a beautiful day of Sunday!

steemit-border
Posted using eSteem Surfer
steemit-border

Sort:  

Ooh what a sweet day spent in a wonderful place..!
How beautiful is life ?!^_^
bonne journee.png

Yes, you found the essence ... life is beautiful!

Wonderful photos! The village you visited looks like it has many stories to tell. Red Mullet? Or which ever fish it is looks fabulous! A sublime Sunday, indeed!

Thank you! I could make a post about bad luck. I lost many hundreds of photos because of a memory card (I only realized this malfunction when I went to the Rod Stewart concert). I had spectacular pictures of the village ... lost.
I don't know the name of the fish, they told me in Greek but I didn't remember. Anyway, there was fresh fish from the sea.
Yes, it was a beautiful day that did not happen too often.

Oh no! Iknow how hearbreaking that is. I lost all the photos I took in 2006 due to a computer meltdown. I can still see those photos in my memory and I long for them. Were they all photos from Greece!? I think you should be required to go back again very soon.

Yes, I think we all have had such losses ...
Greece will be, if everything goes well, only the following year.
I have to be optimistic, thank you!
I made a post in which I posted all the posts from SAM last week. It's a way to see everything posted, to read each other's posts. As I said in the rules, I will share the earnings of this post with all those who have participated and will comment on this recapitulative post. I hope you do it too.

I resteemed your post! Thanks for featuring all of us!

Thank you! I hope for more visibility and some of us will get votes. It is only the beginning, if there will be more participants this post may be of more help. I wanted to be a small reward as well.

You found a shop in Greece that roasts coffee....in the shop! That is awesome, a well used and loved roaster and that's a whole load of coffee in the cooling tray. What a fantastic experience, I love that you found such a special coffee shop like - really amazing.

But how frustrating, you took the amazing trip to Greece - and on returning your camera memory card failed - everything lost. But it was not, your Wife's photo's are just and special - and it's always a joy to see @bluemoon himself feature in his fantastic posts. Honestly these photos are spot on, an amazing journey throughout your trip and the food - just amazing the little roast fishes look delicious.

I have often thought I would like to visit Greece, now I am certain I would like it. You always manage to take us on an incredibly journey of words and pictures, I just wish more people would find and delight in your posts as much as I do.

Thank you once again for making #SublimeSunday so incredibly special.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Your comments are so laudatory that I don't even know how to answer. I have to say, however, that I am very happy to make some posts that you like. I do it because of your idea and because of the chalenge you initiate and that fits a lot with the way I do these posts. Almost like a diary.
The part of the coffee I introduced it specially for you, I don't understand the devices and procedures but I thought you would be interested ... being your domain of expertise.
I am happy again because I contributed to your desire to visit Greece. Worth it!
I know many English people bought property in Greece and moved there. I don't know if you read: Gerald Durrell's three autobiographical books about his family's four years (1935-1939) on the Greek Island of Corfu or maybe you saw the series: The Durrells in Corfu...
This is a trailer:

Thank you so much, I am very interested in the coffee roasting device, it is similar in design to the Turkish machines I deal with but all manufacturers have their own unique twist on them. It is good to see roasters in the coffee shops, more are starting to replicate that in the UK it is a special way to see coffee from bean to cup.

I have not heard of Gerald Durrel, but now I will look it up. Thank you for always sharing the best of your experience, and sharing your knowledge - that is a special gift I always appreciate.

My pleasure! Few images with the roaster, I think is an old model. Unfortunately, the plaque is written in Greek.

()
 

pz06muj6ls.jpg
 
kuggqglht6.jpg

I love the stone houses. Of course the food is nice too especially the cat to share it. :-)

I also liked those houses and I'm sorry I didn't see what it looks like inside.

Maybe you'll get a chance in future. Apparent curious me need to know and found on AirBnB these:
https://www.airbnb.com.sg/s/Kastro--Greece

Thanks! It looks is another Kastro in Sifnos Cyclade Islands. This are in south of Greece.
I talk about a village called Kastro in the Thassos island, in the north of Greece.

You're welcome. My mistake then. I though it said Greece and they look like stone houses.

No mistake, Thassos island is in Greece as well. In northern Greece. Greece has over 6,000 islands, but only 227 are inhabited.

6,000 is a lot but just nearby Singapore, Indonesia has close to 3 times that.

Yes, I know...impressive!

I really enjoyed that village of Kastro and the architecturally beautiful stone houses that are being built. Because they lack landscape, they almost look like they are just being built and getting ready to sell (perhaps to tourists who love the area?) It is a very commanding view from the top.

Wouldn't that be a view I would love to wake up to every morning!

I need my coffee, good and strong to keep my day going. I am glad that you found a nice cup to make your day good. I like that they put Gourmet on the side of the cup. I like to be the judge of my coffee! Right? I have had a camera malfunction before, so my sympathy is with you. But, at least your wife took pictures, so you were able to recoup from what could have been a disaster.

But, the food! Oh, I agree with you! The ending of the day, with your beautiful sunset, the color fading into the water, was crowned with a meal fit for a king. I love when I discover a wonderful little place to put my day to rest. The food looked amazing the other day, especially the calamari! I love calamari!

Thank you for taking us along with you and sharing your #beautifulsunday with us! Such a #sublimesunday!

Upped and Steemed

You passed the posting like a sieve, that is, you read it very carefully. Thank you! Nothing is more pleasant than seeing you do not write for nothing.
I wondered if I would like to live in that village. The view is spectacular, I could not show exactly how it is but I think you have to be a solitary to stay there.
Again we are alike beside a cup of coffee...
Food was a pleasure after tiring days. Tired of so much beauty ... I have not used more spectacular pictures with food because I will use them for subsequent postings.
Thanks a lot for your full comment ... and for the rest!

This is such a fascinating, educational and entertaining blog @bluemoon. I particularly liked seeing the solid, well built stone buildings and the terrecotta vase cemented into the pillar, rhe curiosity of your wife, the fabulous sunset and silhouette capture and the 'hungry, hazy' shot of the man walking up the stairs. What did they put in your coffee I wonder?

Many thanks for taking us on your sublime and interesting walk. It was most enjoyable.

Thank you very much! It was most enjoyable is the most pleasant remark I could get.
Indeed, in that mountain village the houses had to be built of stone to resist.
Ha, ha...Who knows what put in that coffee (otherwise very tasty)? Let me tell you a little story about this:

When I got to the coffee shop, the man who handled it was in front of the store and smoked a strange cigarette. It has been a great deal of trouble for him to quit the cigarette and to come make our coffees!
That photo with the stairs came out because it was night and the time of exposure was long, I moved the camera ... When I saw the picture I thought about you and your digital art. I did something by mistake but I liked the result.

Well then......I think whatever that man was smoking must have had an effect on you @bluemoon It must have been good if he was reluctant to pause for a moment to serve you. (lol) Your photographic 'mistake' turned out to be a very fascinating image. You got just the right amount of blur to create a ghostly/ ethereal effect which I too, find very appealing. You'll have to try it again and see if yoju can produce another intriuging effect.

It has happened several times to find such effects after shooting and I gave up those photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88