Paper Art

in #beautiful6 years ago

Today I just want to share with you some amazing artwork I encountered during my aimless wondering on the web a while ago. Oh, before I forget: follow the "source" links under the images. They'll often take you to pages with a lot more stunning paper artworks!


faye-halliday-cutouts-filled-in-by-nature-cover.jpg
Artist Faye Halliday Makes Intricate Animal Cutouts and Lets Nature Fill in the Rest - source: Twisted Sifter

I don't have an artistic bone in my body and to be honest, I'm also not one that visits the museum to go stare at some paintings, sculptures or anything like that. The only times I ever tried to create something I thought was beautiful with my own hands was when I fell in love with origami ans a kid. I was so amazed by the intricate little models of flowers, animals and objects that could be made by making the right folds in the right order in one single square piece of paper.

I never became any good at it though; like I said, not an artistic bone in this body... But having said all that, that doesn't mean I'm not occasionally awe-struck by the sheer beauty of some artistic creations. So a couple of days ago, when I had a trip down memory lane while searching the web for some beautiful origami models, I somehow followed a link that brought me to another type of artwork from paper, and there I had that feeling of total amazement once again... To know why, follow the link below the paper-cutting art:


Hina.jpg
Hina - source: 25 Amazing Papercut Artists

It's called paper cutting and some of the artworks are so amazingly intricate and delicate. They look like they'll be destroyed if you take them outside or breathe too hard on them as they're made of paper that consists mainly of holes; most of the paper is cut out to leave only the most delicate paper "wiring" to give shape to some beautiful and tender visuals. I also learned that even if I just learned about this, this type of art has been around for a long time, just look at this piece from the year 1700 AD:


Joanna_Koesten_work.jpg
Intricate Paper cutting of a hunting scene by Dutch artist Joanna Koesten - source: Wikipedia

The normal ones are great already, but when they combine these intricate paper-cutouts with some strategically place lighting, real magic happens. They're called "sgadow boxes"... And then there are the paper cut sculptures to that are equally amazing. I've learned that there's a lot more than mere origami to be done with a simple medium like paper... I'll shut up and let you enjoy the beauty. I hope to see you all back tomorrow :-) Enjoy!


Smaug.jpg
Smaug the Golden, the true King under-Mountain. - source: Etsy.com


flowers-1.jpg
Delicate Cut Paper Flower by Maude White - source: Colossal


Extremely-Creative-Examples-of-Kirigami-Art-A-Hobby-to-Addapt-21.jpg
Kirigami art - source: Boredart


faye-halliday-cutouts-filled-in-by-nature-1.jpg
Another stunning nature-filled cutout by Faye Halliday - source: Twisted Sifter


Eastern bluebird.jpg
Eastern bluebird by Diana Beltran herrera - source: Flickr


hari.jpg
Backlit Paper Sculpture by Hari & Deepti titled “Oh, The Places You Will Go!” - source: Colossal


magpie_papercraft_by_gedelgo-da3mtou.png
Magpie Papercraft by Gedelgo - source: Deviantart


Mononoke.jpg
Princess Mononoke shadow box


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Gilgamesh, The Worlds First Superhero?
Interstellar Visitor `OumuamuaScary Real
An Open Invitation To Alex JonesBig Trouble With Big Data
The Mystery Of LifeSluggish Beauty

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

Sort:  

Hello @zyx066, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks so much for the support, @creativecrypto :-) I love what you do for the creative souls on Steemit! But, just to be clear, I'm not one of them; the examples in this post are from real creative souls :-)

Thanks again, and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48