Sort:  

... I myself am still learning the subtleties in terminology like 'hardcore' 'house' 'breakbeat' ... Perhaps only coincidental that my work lands anywhere near these styles, my approach being mostly intuitive, more than from conscious experience. Thanks for listening!

Yes, from the first time I heard your music I totally recognized the placement on the psy schedule or something^^
Your comment is a great reminder - going more into intuitive approaches vs trying to make the track something it doesn't want to be. I gotta pay attention to that as I'm often rather control-obsessed when making music, though through these contests I learn to let go more and more <3

'psy schedule' that's funny! :-D I actually use both approaches, but rarely simultaneously ... The conscious disciplined effort often sounds that way, but I figure all the discipline involved in making it will become intuitive eventually, and at that point, flow more naturally. In other words, that notion of stepping out of one's comfort zone to expand one's horizons ... I get it from these contests too...

Tell me about it...! here I am sitting in my room with the sound of cajon, trumpets and shakers ;)
Never thought I would do anything latin this life, let alone this year <3

there's so much to Latin, to create any, it's both an exercise in discipline and intuitive for me even after listening for years to a lot of different kinds, still not quite intuitive with all the possible rhythms... So much is regional too, that I don't think any one person is an expert at all of it!

A degree of amateurish interpretation will often keep a track fresh and innovative. Didn't you say you had jazz guitar training? I still have a cooperation request going by a lady who would like some jazz noir soundtrack for one of her novels.
I am utterly at a loss as to what chords to play, no idea about jazz. Will write her and see if the thing is still needed. If it is would you be interested in trying sxomething along those lines? Maybe send me some old chords progressions I can use for the project?
First of all: Latin day ;)

Wow, that sounds cool! My first instrument is piano/keyboards, I had a a few classes in Jazz appreciation and Bebop improvisation, and sat-in in a few Jazz club jam sessions. I'm not a guitar player per se, but I do have some pretty clean sounding guitar patches ...

Of course I would love to discuss in detail what sort of arrangement your acquaintance has in mind for 'Jazz Noir' (I think of a dark smoke filled bar when I hear that term, maybe a slow bluesy thing.)

Here's a tune for you to consider, I'd call Jazz Noir ... There's a chord in the this one that's unique ... A minor triad with a major upper partial C Eflat G B D ... Modern Jazz is all about the upper partials like playing two chords simultaneously, one 'stacked up' on top of another ...

Here's Ella singing it, too...

Actually I was thinking of the tune "Nica's Dream" that has the minor/major7th in it ...

Funny you should mention guitar ... the website that scanned in a lot of the old Real Book charts is this this one ... http://www.guitarcats.com/

Wow thank you for all those resources!!! I really really can use them and will dig through them today.
She posted a track that I could aim for that is in her liking in the kind of style she sees for her story, though I am not entirely certain I will be able to make time for it at the moment. The contests and my other work demand a lot of my focus these days, and then festival season is coming up hehe.
So gauging these bits of musical lore will help me greatly in getting a foot in the door.

The track she wants to aim for starts at minute 16:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62504.18
ETH 2430.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60