On the Bench Today - How to Bead Peyote Stitch and Design Hurdles

in #beadwork7 years ago

So I lied...I am using a feather to show how to do Peyote Stitch, because this feather also takes 26 beads.

Why is that important? because it is only divisible by sections of 2...and that stumps so many new beaders. How to make a design that works well when the design elements can only have 2 beads...? Go asymmetrical :)

IMG_1570.jpg
(this is not an actual owl feather, it is an airbrushed Goose feather)

First though how to start peyote stitch.

When beading peyote over leather I tend to knot the end of the thread, and run it through the leather to the starting point.
IMG_1545.jpg

Add beads...for Peyote I prefer an even number, because then I can make patterns as I go, and it makes repeating design elements possible. The size of the item to be beaded of course dictates how many beads.
Then slip the needle through the first bead to create a solid ring.
IMG_1546.jpg

Snug this down so there are no spaces in this first row of beads, then hold your tension on the thread as you go around the second row. Where your thread comes out, pick up one new bead, then skip one in the row and go through the second. The new bead should sit on top of the bead you skipped, and be sure it sits on the working side of the beading.
IMG_1548.jpg

You should end up with a neat little row that looks like a zipper, like this. When you reach the end of the row, step up.
IMG_1549.jpg

Row 2 and on for the rest of the piece, fill in the blank spaces...step up at the end of the row.
IMG_1554.jpg

Designs with 26 beads...

This is a difficult number to work with for most new beaders, because when one breaks it down you end up with sections of 2. So, we could do lines, or spiral lines...OR we could go asymmetrical and add various elements which are not repeating.

Feathers (and many other items) are all unique sizes, so you won't know how many beads you have to work with until you start. For feathers it depends on the size of the quill, and the thickness of the leather when wrapped.

I started this one with lines to show what they look like...
IMG_1558.jpg

Yesterday I was in a fire mood (probably because it is like 10 F here). So I had the beads out, and then I found the feather was 26 beads...ugh. Soo, once I got past the lines, I just started. Thoughts going something like this...
"26 beads...fire...flames, top in the center then wrapping around...sections of 4 with a center line...leaves 3 in the back...okay that works." Creating the image in my mind, then beading it...
IMG_1559.jpg

IMG_1563.jpg

IMG_1564.jpg

"The line in the back looks too blank and white...hmm, maybe some blue accents, and then into black instead of mirroring the flame."
IMG_1568.jpg

IMG_1569.jpg

And so the design almost forms itself...
IMG_1574.jpg

IMG_1573.jpg

IMG_1572.jpg

In the end, these 26 bead designs turn out to be some of the most creative, because they force us out of the repeating patterns. So, don't be afraid of the 26 beads :) Play with designs and have fun watching them evolve. They do take a little longer to bead, but they stretch the mind a bit too :)

IMG_1577.jpg

Thanks for reading :) I hope you enjoyed...

This is a Steemit Original, all words and photos by Elew..

Sort:  

Wow @elew! That one came out so beautiful!
Love the flames! Like you said the other day, hard to
find a how 2 online that people can see, totally agree!
Yours are super clear, close up and we know right where
to stick that needle ;-) You take such great photos of your
wonderful beading ❤
I also like how the leather and feather match!

Thank you Shasta :) I am glad my camera takes good micro shots...the 200+ views on this post are from a fb group I am admin in, where people are there to learn. This tutorial and the gourd stitch one they have been waiting a long time for me to do ;) https://www.facebook.com/groups/1512024105778157/

I think part of my problem with Peyote stitch, is that I have a hard time finding beads that are so uniform. If you don’t mind my asking, what brand do use? I can usually find some that are close to uniform, but not quite close enough. Great post, thanks!

For these I think I like Miyuki round 11/0 or 13/0 the best. They are not quite charlottes (like standard Czech seeds) but are shaped more like a rounded tube bead, and are fairly uniform. I still have to eyeball them and pick out consistent sizes...but they are far easier.

For flat stitch (aka applique) I prefer Czech beads, because I like to have all the different thicknesses to fill in with.

Thanks so much for the great information!

You are very welcome :)

Wow!! This requires so much talent! How long did it take to make?? Do you sell these?

Aww thank you :) But it just takes years of practice. These, including cutting the leather and fringe by hand, take between 5 to 10 hours depending on how much beadwork goes into them. Yes! we sell them here https://www.etsy.com/shop/Elewmompittseh

We do accept Steem too...

Nice easy instructions, way to go girl!

Thanks Weetree :) Hopefully it helps some new beaders!

Sharing to twitter...

Thank you <3

I met that beaded feather in person

hehe, so you did :)

I love love love your designs. They're just so gorgeous!

Thanks Brianna <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Elew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59