Beach Wednesday - Arte Xávega, a fishing gear with centuries of tradition in Portugal

in #beachwednesday7 years ago (edited)

Praia da Vieira is a small beach village where I spend summer holidays between my age of 10 to 18 years old

I got my first summer job here...ahhh...my first owned money!! I worked in an aquatic park attraction, where I had lots​ of fun too!!

This beach has a very distinctive sea breeze (which some people says it's rich in iodine), but it is also known for its fishing gear tradition - Arte Xávega

IMG_2428.JPG

Arte Xávega is a fishing gear with centuries of tradition in Portugal

It's practiced​ along the Portuguese Atlantic coast in some of the coastal communities, being an important part of their historical and cultural heritage

This gear involves hauling nets from the shore. If in the past, this was done by animals or manually using brute force; nowadays it is done mechanically. The fishing season is typically short and substantial quantities are never caught!

Here's a video that gives us an insight of how fisherman hauls the nets

I'll recommend the first 3 minutes from the video.

Some photos of how they push the nets, with local visitors helping too

DSCN2085.JPG

push...

DSCN2086.JPG

push....(don't worry, they had a tractor pulling the nets)

DSCN2090.JPG

Here it is...not much, hein!?

DSCN2093.JPG

They mainly caught sardines

DSCN2094.JPG

...and some squids too!

DSCN2099.JPG

Curiously the boat on this photo (and first too) is the same one of the video - Viking

IMG_2427.JPG

BeachWednesday tag was launched by @uwelang and it's a great idea to share some of our most special beach photos or short stories!

Hope you enjoyed this insight of traditional fishing!


Please do not forget to check the other daily photography challenges:

Sort:  

Muito bom Lili. Essa vida marítima em PT parece muito a rotina que temos aqui em BR, a praia é belíssima e que maravilha, o seu primeiro emprego foi trabalhando na praia? Muito bom :) Eu também já trabalhei na praia, por 3 longos anos, foram tempos duros.

Sim, o meu primeiro trabalho foi num parque aquático (piscinas com escorregas) mesmo perto da praia. Eu adorava no final do dia ir dormir para a praia (quando o tempo permitia)!! Mas só o fiz durante 2 meses no máximo em cada verão. O sol não é pera doce...mas nunca estive tão bronzada como nesses tempos (se bem que era com a marca dos calções e da t-shirt...pff)!!

wow fresh fish?
would be yum in onions and tomatoes with just pepper and salt to taste
is Porto cold in November?
Steemfest is going to be there

Yes, fresh sardines!! These ones are better grilled seasoned only with salt. They are very popular here in june-july and august months.

Are you coming for Steemfest2!? It will be in Lisbon instead of Porto. We never have sure about the weather in october/november. The mininum temperature might be around 10-12ºC and the maximum temperatures might be around 15-20ºC. I can inform you before you pack your clothes :)

Ola Liliane, Muito interessante!!
Resteemed

Muito obrigada! Do you have portuguese family!? ;)

não, Liliana, vivi no Brasil.

Daí o português!! :) Fantástico!!

Interesting story!

Thanks!! Glad you enjoyed it, this must be shared as it's not a common fishing technique!

I'm glad you did, hope to see more posts like this!
Have a great day Liliana!

I try to share a short story whenever I can. Thanks for the support! :)

Wow, I've only ever fished with a fishing rod and a few worms :)
Have a look at my post https://steemit.com/steemitphotochallenge/@rbfromsa/abandoned-hotel-xai-xai-mozambique, I think you might like it.
Please feel free to follow me @rbfromsa.

You're more skilled than me, I have never fished at all!!

You HAVE to try it, it is so much fun, therapy for the soul :)
29351_4943096139000_1541460653_n.jpg

I'm not sure I could do it as I'm sensitive to animal suffering. I now it's a contradiction​ as I eat meat and fish...but if I had to hunt to eat....I would much likely becom​e a vegetarian!!

lol, I think many people would become vegetarians if they had to hunt to eat :-)

It was interesting. :) @liliana.duarte

Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed it!! :))

Great story along the awesome photos! Thanks for taking part in the weekly #BeachWednesday - resteemed

Thank you so much!! For the resteem too, more people upvoted it :))

It was amazing.steemit community oke

You are welcome.your vote is very inportant couse we are in community

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.17 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 07 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks for your idea and opinion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48