BeachWednesday - Turks & Caicos

in #beachwednesday7 years ago (edited)

This is my first entry to #BeachWednesday. This is also my first entry to any contest actually. I don't even know if I am doing the right thing by properly tagging it. But I see people do it all the time, thought I give a try for fun. If this doesn't work, it is cool, no harm done :)

Turks and Caicos island is an overseas British Territory, consists of several islands, located to the north of Dominian Republic in the Caribbean Sea. Google map location here:

Here is TCI , as it is known to the locals.

This particular beach is in Providenciales north shore, which is one of the smaller but most populated islands with a commercial airport.

Here is the close up of the location, Grace Bay Beach:

TCI.JPG
Canon EOS 5D Mark III, 24mm (f/18, 1/13sec, ISO-100, -0.3 step)

This is a dawn shot. I waited a long time to get this shot right. It was more windy than I expected and even with a sturdy tripod is it hard to take this shot well for a very heavy camera. I know I am giving up this camera soon!

I like the smooth water at longish exposure and the sun accented clouds. Foreground is a red ocean kayak on a boat ramp over the ocean.

My contribution to #BeachWednesday by @lizanomadsoul

Disclaimer: All photographs are my own. Just ask me please if you like to use and share; citing the source is fine.

Sort:  

Hey @azircon!! This is an awesome contribution to beachwednesday! I´ve never been to the dominican republic, but i ve heard that the beaches must be incredible!! I love also how the clowds are over the blue sea!! Nice pic! Thanks for participating.

Thank you for the kind word. I wasn't sure if I was doing this correct or not. Fellow qurite @ewkaw pointed me to this. I have never participated in any contest before, not just in steemit, but anywhere ever. I mostly take pictures for myself, so if I made any technical mistake please pardon me.

TCI is to the north of Dominican Republic. It is part of a geologic feature known as Caicos Platform, which is a isolated carbonate platform, where geologists go to study modern carbonate depositional environment. It is quite spectacular.

Wow, sounds nice! So its not really touristy there?! BeachWednesday is not really a contest, more an initiative :) But I go through the posts using the hashtag and curate them :), so you did it right! You take great pics, I would like to see more of it. Tomorrow is SunThursday by the way ;)

It is touristy in Provindenciales. Not outside. Especially if you managed to go to south caicos, there is a place called Ambergis Cay, where each sand grain is this perfect sphere! Called Oolite, and the whole beach is made of just this, no mud

oolite.JPG

And underwater, reefs are like this below: this is called Paradise reef, visibility 40-50 meters:

reef.JPG

Wow! Awesome! Noted ;) Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74