You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grab Some Basic Attention Token (BAT) Now!

in #bat7 years ago

I'm curious, did you actually make it into the ICO? I was initially planning to try, but got put off from it at the last minute by the negativity surrounding the team's decision to set the ETH / BAT price peg at a low ETH price, thus artificially inflating the target funding cap.

I'm kicking myself for missing out, but I think the current high value is driven mainly by pent up demand from all the people who missed the ICO. Kind of similar to what happened initially with FirstBlood. So I'm holding off for now, will wait to see if there's a dip down to the ICO price or below.

Also I don't think fundamentals for this project are very good. It may be a nice short term speculative opportunity, but I wouldn't want to hold this long term. The most immediate question in my mind is "how do you get people to switch to using the Brave browser?" It's not easy to overcome the likes of Chrome and Firefox, and I'm not sure ad blocking + opt in paid incentives to view ads will be enough to give this a worthwhile user base. Seems like a solution in search of a problem to me.

Sort:  

No I did not make it into the ICO, just bought a little on the Bittrex exchange. The price has dipped since the ICO so your intuition looks to be spot on. I agree with the whole browser switching problem, it remains to be seen if this team can persuade enough people to make the jump, although they do claim that BAT will be available over multiple platforms. Only time will tell, but exciting days are ahead in the crypto world!

Only time will tell, but exciting days are ahead in the crypto world!

Exciting days indeed! It will be fun to see how it all turns out, and I'm sure there will be lots of good trading & investing opportunities along the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56758.93
ETH 3033.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30