Steem Basic Income - Voting Distribution Update

Steem Basic Income

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content.

We first posted our distribution chart a week ago, and it was a big hit, so here we go again! The labeling is poor, and 383 votes actually means 383 accounts that received votes. The actual number of votes is much higher!


img source: http://www.steemreports.com/outgoing-votes-info/?account=steembasicincome&days=7

Last week we had an 11.9% self-vote, and we acknowledged that it was higher than our target. This week it has dropped to 7.6%. That's more in line with our expectations, although if we keep posting every day it should climb back toward 10%

The bonus shares from upvoting are more evenly distributed as membership grows. While @scarlet7 still continues to benefit from being early to establish a consistent upvoting pattern, many more members are starting to benefit from upvoting @steembasicincome. When members upvote @steembasicincome, everybody benefits!

The third interesting thing is that @sneakyninja only got 11.4% of the voting power, even with 21% of the shares! This will start to decrease even more as almost half of @sneakyninja's shares were moved into pool 2. Everybody else is still getting more voting weight because @sneakyninja isn't posting enough to use the full allotment it should be receiving. @sneakyninja has a daily curation journal called The Daily Sneak that features a wide variety of posts. Guest curators get paid in SBD and featured authors get resteemed and sponsored for shares in @steembasicincome. Stop by and check it out!

And now we have a similar chart for pool 2:

img source: http://www.steemreports.com/outgoing-votes-info/?account=sbi2&days=7

We started @sbi2 out with upvotes on each of the pending @steembasicincome posts, so that voting power wouldn't be sitting at full while it waits for posts to vote on. Aside from that, it has all the members that would be paused in the main pool. We are super excited about being able to start delivering their basic income through the Waterfall of Sustainability!

Delegation Bonus Shares

Existing members can receive bonus shares by delegation. For every 25 SP delegated to @steembasicincome, members will receive 1 bonus share. Currently each share receives a weekly voting weight of roughly 7.91%

A special thanks is given to @ecoinstant, @revo, @soushi888, @fishyculture, @hefziba, @danpaulson, @ligayagardener, and @geetasnani for boosting everyone's basic income through their delegation!

These bonus shares will be counted before the bonus shares from upvoting @steembasicincome. So if you have 1 share, received 4 bonus shares from delegation of 100 SP, and then upvoted @steembasicincome regularly, you could potentially receive upvote weight equivalent to 10 shares instead of only 1!

Any Steemian that is already enrolled in @steembasicincome can delegate as much as they would like, to receive bonus shares. The approximate APR for this delegation is 27%. That's a 27% annual return to boost everybody's basic income. I don't think it gets much better than that!

Here are some Handy Delegation links:

100200300400500

Enrollment

Sounds intriguing... How do I sign up?

Send 1 STEEM to @steembasicincome. Include the name of a Steemian to sponsor in the comments. You and the person you sponsor will each receive 1 share in the program.

Questions?

We broke down the mechanics for how the program works in the extended introduction, and we hope to provide an updated overview soon. If you have any questions, ask away in the comments section!

Sort:  

Hey, I've been a member for a while now. When I started, I saved up all my Steem until I could buy in. Now I'm a little further along, but I still love the service and want to help other newbies get ahead. Therefore, I'm doing a contest and giving away @steembasicincome memberships. The more the post earns, the more memberships I'm going to give away. (I still don't think I'll break even, but that's ok). I thought I'd let you know about it in case you wanted to stop by.

https://steemit.com/superbowlweekne/@themanwithnoname/steembasicincome-giveaway-a-super-bowl-week-newbie-edition-contest

Cheers, and keep on doing what you do!

Awesome, thanks for letting us know! We just resteemed your contest post!

Thank you! I'm looking forward to bringing more people in. :)

Man, you always post right after I send all my SBD somewhere reminding me I need to do this. Would love to contribute, but I have to get everything lined up.

Thank you for your support! I saw that you got an enrollment transaction in, and we are working on that batch now!

My wonderful friend @hilladigahackles sponsored me! I'm excited to learn more about Steem Basic Income - as a fulltime artist, every little bit helps. Thanks for putting this together.

Your enrollment will be processed in the next batch. We're happy to help support you in your art.

Feel free to link to this comprehensive #BasicIncome FAQ in your posts if you like as a way of helping Steemians better understand the concept itself.

http://steemit.com/basicincome/@scottsantens/a-guide-to-basic-income-frequently-asked-questions-about-ubi

Cheers!

Wow, this is a good system to uplift other steemians in the platform and eventually earn more.
Very nice.

Thanks for your support!

@steembasicincome Thank you for creating this program. This project has allowed me to baseline a value for my content on Steemit as I continue to drive my business plan forward. It's integral to my overall campaign to keep marketing my artwork to new and diverse groups. Steemit is allowing me to do so for the first time and earn my worth along the way.

My sincere gratitude goes out to your team and a special thank you from a @earthnation guild member here.

You're welcome. I wish you the best of luck with your artwork!

Interesting concept, will go through the details when I have some time. I think I will join this program.

Thank you for your support!

Nice sharing @steembasicincome.
I am @chrisdsteemsport, the founder of a steemit whatsapp group called steemit-city where steemians helps each other, and we are lauching steemit-city on steemit as a curation account with its tour programs coming soon. I ask for your relationship and support of the steemit-city curative account when launched. Here is the whatsapp link👉 https://chat.whatsapp.com/Bk8HCCmUtuo0LJ8aSC4jYT Thanks for your mutual understanding

I don't use Whatsapp, but would be happy to look over your program when it launches and give a shout-out to our members if it looks like something they would benefit from.

Thanks for your understanding and supoort.

Hello @steembasicincome nice to meet you. This is great service for new steemit member. Here I starts on @studentoftheyear please support me. Namaste!

Namaste' to you too.
Good morning.
-from the Philippines

Amazing post boss
I am Joe and am a new member on this platform.
I just followed you because i dont want to miss any of your posts.
Please can you take some 2 seconds and follow me back .
Because i have something good for you all.
I promise not to skip you when i buy my steem power.
Actually, i have made my mind to buy steem power as soon as possible.
Erm... Anyway thank you .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65343.70
ETH 3384.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18