You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who pays for universal basic income? Philosopher Alan Watts answers the BIG question.

in #basicincome7 years ago

I wonder where the idea that money can only be used for economic activity came from. The idea that if we create money for anything other than GDP growth we must get inflation. Perhaps it's a self-reinforcing dynamic. I wonder if it is just a simple matter of redefining economic growth to be broader than GDP (see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gross_domestic_product#Proposals_to_overcome_GDP_limitations) and then markets will automatically value transaction that fall within than scope that they don't value today.

Sort:  

Yeah, part of our future will require dropping GDP as our primary measuring stick, so that we can begin to focus on ever improving quality of life over simply economic growth.

At the end of this longread article of mine, I get into that a bit.

I wonder where the idea that money can only be used for economic activity came from

the more I know about economics, and I have delving more than 15 years into it, the more I think the concept of enslavement came first. It is embedded in money, and that is why we must let it go completely. A money-free society is by far preferable. Money is a fiction anyway... a deadly one. Universal basic income will not restrain nor dismantle corporations

I'm having trouble visualising how a world without money would work. Can you expand on how this would function? At it's simplest money is just a token for exchanging different things. Say I'm living in this moneyless society, and I need new tyres for my car. How do I get them without money?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50