Hello Steemit!

in #baseball6 years ago (edited)

My name is Napkin Doon and I’m from NW Arkansas and I am a baseball card enthusiast.
doon logo.jpg
Ok, let’s start over. I don’t want to begin this experiment lying to you. My MADE UP name is Napkin Doon. It has no meaning other than “Napkin Doon” was some incoherent insult my toddler son said to me one day thinking it sounded funny. He didn’t know what it meant either, but I loved the sound of it. He said it at the same time I was playing with the idea of starting a baseball card blog, so I decided to use it as my alias. If you are at all interested, my blog is still in tact on the interwebs: http://napkindoon.blogspot.com/

I wrapped up my blog several years ago, satisfied that I had accomplished what I wanted with it, and with the realization that I didn’t really have that much more to offer. Over the years since, I’ve been occasionally tempted to restart the blog when something in the baseball card world would interest me, or if I could think of a bit that I thought was funny, but I couldn’t envision any sort of sustainable return. Plus, I was really happy with how I ended the blog and it was such a clean break, it just didn’t ever seem right to revive it.

Meanwhile, like many of you over the past few years, a new interest has captured my attention: crypto currency! I have spent the past two years learning as much as I could about crypto currencies and I can say with all sincerity that I’m just as confused as I was when I started (but I have some of it now). So don’t expect any sort of expertise on the subject from me other than some occasional cheer leading. I believe in it and it's future , and I am especially encouraged when I find real world applications for it such as steemit.

So in a way, my interest in crypto led me back to writing about baseball cards, because I found this place that really felt like a fit for casual, conversational forum for talking about cards. And I don't see a lot of people writing about cards here, so I'd like to help change that.

I created my steemit profile almost a year ago, but finally decided to take the leap and start blogging. Unlike my card blog, I don’t expect to post more than once or twice a week here. I’m hoping to attract some of the folks from the card blogging community (who are all so much better at it than I was) to at least take a look at steemit and if they find it interesting, to test the waters themselves.

I expect to use this platform mostly to write about a couple of main card collecting projects that I’m working on. In my next post I’ll talk about the “tidying up/feng shui” attitude I’ve taken toward my collection over the past few years and how it lead to one of my favorite ways to participate in this great hobby.

Thanks, and I look forward to meeting a lot of new people!doon logo.jpg

Sort:  

@napkindoon, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote!
Please take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam. (tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Congratulations @napkindoon! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @napkindoon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87