You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Expect Some Bad Baseball in the Coming Weeks

in #baseball5 years ago

Baseball... just isn't as exciting a game as NFL/NBA. Don't get me wrong, I actually like the game. I used to do fantasy baseball. However it wasn't really the game itself that drew me to it, it was the impressive amount of statistical analysis that could be applied to the game, to the players, to the positions that made it interesting. Watching a game itself... meh its okay, when the weather is nice, with a really cold beer. I wonder if my feelings are shared by many other people?

Sort:  

Yes, probably shared by most people, which is why the game is withering among younger fans. It's my favorite sport for all of those reasons, though: the game, the stats, the market moves. I grew up listening on the radio, so my horizon of patience may be a little longer. But it's hard to deny that it's not making a compelling cases with all of today's competing entertainment options.

I grew up listening on the radio

You know, this may truly be a big part of its appeal. Maybe part of what made baseball so special for so many may be the mental visualization of what was happening.

I don't suspect it will go anywhere, they will just have to find a better way to market it to fans. Perhaps they could start by not charging $12 for a pretzel at a stadium :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32