You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Former Narc Turned Humanitarian - A Life Series by Barry Cooper - (My painful and secret motive for waging a personal war on marijuana users)

This is beautiful, Barry and it also pulled on my heartstrings. I've been estranged from my son for several years now, yet have never given up hoping that perhaps he'd come to understand how much I love him and always will. He had a difficult childhood with an alternately loving, then violently abusive Marine Corp father who died a few years ago from ALS, brought on by the chemical burn pits in Iraq. While my son worships his father's memory, he has no idea what I had to do to keep us all alive, including grabbing the steering wheel to prevent him from driving us all into a lake one dark evening, with both of our three year olds in the back seat. My son doesn't remember the terrible events of his childhood, though I'll carry broken bones and restorative plastic surgery to the grave from being a survivor.
Barry, I feel strongly that your mother still loves you and would be thrilled to hear from you again. Please make it happen, because your own story is one that also gives me hope.

Sort:  

Ouch. I'm sincerely sorry you endured such a horrible string of events. If your son does not know these details, I think you should tell him. Be sure and use a sweet, non judgmental tone and don't expect a certain reaction. Be happy and kind no matter what reaction he gives. Like I told in this story, I had an awakening when my father explained his actions. Explain yours to your son and it could soften the hardness he has toward you. Also, make a list an apologize for anything you have done wrong to him. All parents make mistakes. I have apologized to all my children for spanking them and several other things I did. And I will take your advice and make that phone call happen. Thanks @gitta. Peace and love to you and thanks for sharing your story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37