Nurse comes in with huge Starbucks order at closing. Pissed that it happens all the time...never a tipsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #barista8 years ago (edited)

I'm probably one of the friendliest baristas in town, but I was slightly pissed that the nurses waited until the last minute to order a few dozen drinks.

I was wiping down the only open espresso machine, because we have just a few minutes until closing. I look down for a second and out of nowhere, a smiling nurse walks in with her bag full of credit cards and the List of drinks.

She had more than a dozen drinks and every kind of milk in our fridge was requested. If most of the drinks are 2%, this drinks are made much faster, because you continue to steem the milk as espresso shots are pulling and then you start filling cups. When you have a variety of milks or milk substitutes, the drink making process slows down considerably.

I actually love making espresso drinks and am good at my job, but I get tired of the nurses coming in at the last minutes with a large list of drinks. The poor man who orders a tall coffee tips the change, but very few nurses tip, and when it's a big list of drinks, we never get a tip.

I hate being pissed, and I know I made more than a few nurses smile tonight. I imagine when they first taste their delicious hand crafted drinks made by @runridefly, and it puts them in a better place.

Customers always tell me how happy they are to see me working the bar, because I care about the quality of my work. I don't like how cheap some customers make me feel, because I am a master craftsman. Steem On Dudes.

Sort:  

Hello @runridefly

It gives us pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiative.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!
We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!
~RHW~

great post @runridefly, you probably make the best macchiato ;) LOL - i am addicted to it

@dumar022, no joke about macchiato. Love making good foam. Steem on friend!

Well I upvoted your story... not much of a tip, but maybe a vote that starts an avalanche. My wife is a hairdresser and she too gets tips...well save a few.

A Reality; she used to own a salon... then decided to just style freelance. Some of her old clients still refuse to tip her as the stigma of being an owner still hangs on her...even after a 4 hour Keratin treatment.

My Daughter in law makes far more money in tips than salary as a barkeep... there are no set rules, but people should consider the person helping them.

The best tips come from those who receive tips. The poorest guys in town tip big. Thank you for the upvote my friend.

You are absolutely right on there @runridefly... people of service are even of service to those that serve them.

When I work therapy, the only people that ever tipped me were those that worked in services...like therapists.

bela postagem,amigo.

Heres a tip ! Next time tell her your machine is broke down , and your now closed for the night ! Haha ! Maybe she will get the hint for next time ! Lol ! Kidding ! 😆😂 Steem on ! Literally! Hehe 😉😂

@karenmckersie, I just give them decaf instead. Lol

Hahaha! That will fix them ! Lol ! 🍵☕

I feel you bro. I used to work at at restaurant and always hated seeing people coming in 5 minutes to closing. Half the kitchen already clean getting ready to close the other half. Such is the service life. I did always enjoy it though. I too tip generously, if earned.

You need a @blocktrades, @smooth, or @dantheman to come into your Starbucks.

@mynameisbrian, would know @dantheman by sight. My favorite whale is @blocktrades, but wouldn't know it until he raised his hands and said, "@runridefly, it's me @blocktrades!" Lol

Steem On but how do you steem the milk?
Seriously though, you didn't think they may be reading your post? :-)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.42 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99