You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Barefoot Life

in #barefoot7 years ago

Wow! That is pretty amazing. I remember my husband and I used to watch a show about survival where one of the main guys went barefoot all the time. Everywhere. Around the world. It was pretty wild.
We live in Panama and I am constantly getting onto the kids for not wearing their shoes outside so they don't get worms in their feet! Do you find that you have any problems with catching disease or worms? Do you wear shoes when you go to stores and such?

Sort:  

If you remember the name of the show, you'll have to give me a shout - I'd be interested in seeing that! Yeah, no, I don't wear shoes at all, not anywhere. And I honestly have no idea about diseases or worms. It's not something that I feel concerned about. (I'm really primarily concerned about the concrete reality of the fact that my feet -
and the rest of me - function much better without footwear!) I actually tend to my chickens every day barefoot, chicken shit and all. I'm pretty sure it would gross most people out, but I'm completely immune to it: I just get on with it all! In fact, talking of immunity, I imagine that my immune system must be pretty robust these days: anything I can't wash off with damp grass or a cold hose pipe, I just pull out and throw aside, lol ;o)

Oh man! That's so amazing! I would feel every little piece of everything. I'm sure you did for a while too! Great that this works for you! I have a friend here who goes barefoot a lot and said she got worms but she still keeps doing it! Hey, whatever! The guy I was thinking about was on the show Dual Survival by Discovery Channel. Here is his website: http://www.codylundin.com/cody_dual_survival.html. He was a pretty interesting guy! Take care!!

Thanks for the link, @apanamamama! Looks fascinating - I'll definitely check Cody out!

Yes, I still feel everything underfoot - I have leathery, protective pads on my soles now, but if anything I'd say they are more sensitive rather than less: they're certainly more responsive, anyway.

I have no idea what kind of worms are capable of getting into one's feet, but I live in England, not Panama! Whatever they are, we don't have them here - yay! A benefit to living on this funny little island! I knew there had to be one eventually! ;o)

Off to investigate Cody...!

Hugs!

Lol! Yes a nice advantage! :) I think they are hook worms, but I could be wrong. Hope you enjoyed looking up Cody. He seemed to be quite a character on the show.

Oh, my - hook worms?! I have no idea what they are, but I am NOT looking them up online, for sure! My imagination is already working overtime - I am not going to give it visuals to work with, lol :'D I have bookmarked Cody's website, so I'll be watching some of his content when the right moment arrives. He does look like a character - and so do his feet! xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48