You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Dog Exposes: More Swiss Banking Horror Stories!

in #banks7 years ago

Wow... that's quite a story. I'm glad they came to their senses and decided you were not a "risk."

I'm a Danish citizen, but living in the USA. I trust banks less and less... although I have fairly good faith in my local bank. They are not one of the huge national organizations; they have been in business 105 years with the same name and are very locally involved in the community... and they also were completely outside the banking crisis of a few years ago.

I also still keep a contingency bank account in Denmark...

Even so, I am not sure I full trust ANY of them, mostly because there's no telling what sort of banking regulations may be handed down "from above." As a non-US citizen I'm technically subject to the same scrutiny as ostensible "terrorists."

I'm increasingly looking at holding more in cryptocurrencies, even if they seem very volatile. Good reason to just power up with anything I might get from rewards here, rather than cash out!

Sort:  

Thanks for letting us in on your experiences.

I have a friend that had dual US/Swiss citizeship and she ended up renouncing the US one because the IRS wanted her to pay taxes on her world wide income. That was a shame.

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

I trust my bank, too, like you @denmarkguy. My bank is also locally owned and always has been. The employees know me by my name whenever I come in, and ask me about how my life is going. They send Christmas cards and other kind acts. But I still have to remember that their sole purpose is to make money from me, so I am cautious and ready to withdraw our funds if things ever go awry. I think my wife and I would put more funds into crypto IF they weren't so volatile and if she were more willing. She is less receptive to new ideas so she is much more comfortable with checking/savings accounts versus crypto wallets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47