Plant Therapy / FREE SUCCULENT & POT GIVEAWAY

in #bandwidthissues7 years ago (edited)

Hey there, Steem People! I'm trying out new nicknames to see what feels best. I don't think its this one.

Day 4 I took a break from all the excitement of GIF making. I also got a love note from Steemit saying my enthusiasm for posting and upvoting used up all my bandwidth, so I didn't really have a choice. After a brief outburst of FUCK-THIS-I-SEE-YOU-STEEMIT-TRYING-TO-CON-ME-INTO-BUYING-STEEM-SO-I-CAN-KEEP-PLAYING, @NutinButDaTruth explained that since I haven't even been here a week, it's going to take some time to build up my account. I did mention I'm impatient, right? OK. So, Day 5 of Succulents and Cement.

"The visual aesthetics of plants are known to elicit feelings of inner peace, which generates positive emotions toward a meaningful appreciation of life. Direct contact with plants guides the individual's focus away from stress enhancing their overall quality of life." - YJ Lin

IMG_6791.jpg

When I googled "plant therapy" this is what jumped out at me. Sure, it came from death studies in Taiwan, but wiki also had it front and center as the definition of. So it must be truth! (Oh, sarcasm is also a big thing for me, but its hard to type it. File under things to remember when blogging...). Regardless, I find being around succulents, touching succulents, even just looking at succulents has a calming effect. Although I will say the memes probably aren't true. Ask any succie addict how much they've spent on their babies and I'm guessing the answer will surprise you! More than a hour with a therapist, thats for sure.

First things first, a little term borrowed from French culinary - Mise en place. I got all my plants, tools and other necessities ready for a little me time.

IMG_20180126_131958.jpg

The best part of gardening is getting dirty. I love the feeling of cool soil on a hot day :)

IMG_20180126_133728.jpg

But, tools do come in handy. The smaller the better in my opinion! (Obviously. I'm 4'11.5") I got these from my sister for Christmas one year after she heard I was using spoons from the kitchen. You can get yourself a set on Amazon - comes with a great squirt bottle with a long nozzle for watering those in between spots. I added the pink shovel and free Gevalia coffee scoop myself. Hey, whatever works!

madpottertools.jpg

I'll admit it took me more than an hour to figure out just how I wanted the arrangement to look and moving succulents around until it was perfect - but I loved every second of it! The most stress I felt was in my thighs from squatting so long and the burning sun on my black sweat pants. Next time you're feeling like you want to kill someone, try potting up some succies instead.

Now on to the FREE* part, which is why you're all here anyways. I couldn't resist buying this mess of a succulent cluster from that nursery with all the sick plants. I went hard on cleaning off all the old dirt from the roots and one crested piece was just begging to come off! Naturally, I plucked it. Bad habits die hard.

IMG_20180126_132210.jpg

IMG_20180126_135919.jpg

So, if you're located in the Continental US (sorry international friends, I dont know how to ship plants off the continent without a nursery permit), here is what's up for grabs:

madpottersshooter.jpg
(boyfriend making coffee table with planter box insert not included)

One MadPotters marbled cement shooter with the escaped succulent cluster. Assuming the crested baby survives by the time this contest ends. I'll separate a fresh piece, if not!

All you have to do is:

  • Resteem this post
  • Leave me a comment with your go-to for relieving stress and anxiety

Winner will be chosen at random unless you make me literally LOL. Then you win. Contest ends in 7 Days. It's *Free if you dont count upvotes/follows/using bandwidth on me!

Good luck, and Happy Potting!
Christie

OH, and one last note on plant pick me ups:

plant progress.jpg

I've brought this guy back from the dead at least four times now. I keep forgetting to water him, which is why houseplants are not my thing. Luckily, a little water is all he needs to bounce back! How can this not make you feel like a successful gardener? ;)

#bandwidthissues #freecontest #succulentgiveaway #minnowsupport #planttherapy #succulentaddict #plantlady #cementpots #sandiegosteemer

Sort:  

Hey tell me more about this bandwith thing. Should I not post so much or should I stop voting? I am also gonna enter the contest lol so ill share my favorite activity at the moment to reduce stress. Its cross stitching! Message_1516400946284.jpg

I love it! Always wanted to try my hand at cross stitching, but I have a feeling Id end up with bloody fingers, lol. Apparently, every action we do uses up bandwidth (even editing posts!) and we are only given a limited amount. So, be careful with how much you "use" your Steem power on votes etc. I found this post helpful:https://steemit.com/steem-dev/@alphacore/bandwidth-limit-exceeded-the-silent-killer

Thank you so much for sharing that link im gonna read it now.

Between 3-4 posts max per day are recommended.
Try not to go below 70-80% of your voting power.

There is great info on the subject in the FAQ (top right menu).

Thank you so much for the info. Ill read the faq again.

The radio show Frequency Waves 432 is now playing on mspwaves.com/home/listen and on Discord at https://discord.gg/VU72J8x :)

Thanks so much for the link

This qualifies in the #contest section as well . Be sure to add it . Nice post

I'm in the UK, so not entering the contest (but it's definitely a good idea and wish you success). I also suffer with the bandwidth issue. haha So I feel your pain. Usually half a day I'm locked out, then allowed back in morning and evening (UK time). Strange but refusing to pay money for STEEM. I think once you build up some more STEEM it should be less of a problem. Keep up the good work @madpotters

How many posts do you think is hitting the limit. Do yoh know if that has anything to do with our rep ratings?

It might be. I'm not too sure 🤔 I find when I upvote a lot my bandwidth goes down, which is expected. But at the same time it seems to be between a certain time where I am locked out from using Steemit, posting, commenting etc. So I have to wait a good 5 hours or so to go back in. After it's fine. Strange.

Thats weird. Ive beeb trying to read about it. But there really isnt alot info out there on the subject of bandwith. If you scroll up someone commented that you should try to stay within a certain percentage of 70% or higher of voting power. But i dont know where to check my voting power.

Hey. Sorry I was banned from commenting because of bandwidth (ironically) lol! You can check your bandwidth here - https://steemd.com/@paulamery

Hey thats crazy! Thanks for the link! Really appreciate it

hahaha! this made me laugh

google it and a few helpful articles will come up from steemit posts. i dont know why thats more useful than the FAQs, though!

Hey Oen, still figuring out how to find all my comments, LOL. Sorry for the delay! Thank you - hopefully Ill be able to offer shipping to the world in the future :) Glad to hear Im not the only one! Definitely not paying, either :)

haha Took you a while @madpotters 😅

Glad you found the replies section though lol This bandwidth thing is a nightmare ...

every time I think I'm starting to "get" Steemit, they throw something like that at me! LOL.

Congratulations @madpotters! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @madpotters! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70