Project-Return-To-Steemit: My Submission

in #backtosteemit5 years ago (edited)

Hi, everyone, it's a while I have made an article on Steemit. I was chatting on Whatsapp and saw this article, by @mosunomotunde where she wrote about @infovore's project Return to Steemit. It is a nice and generous project to help revitalize dormant Nigerian Steemians like me to help share our thoughts on the "bear market" and get back into posting articles on Steemit.
Before I continue, I feel I should write a brief introduction about myself.

Introduction

IMG_20190331_124516.jpg

I am Adelabu Oladunni Rebecca, wife to Adelabu Micheal known as @princekelly on Steemit, a blogger, copywriter, and an Open Source activist. I joined Steemit in December 2017, @princekelly put me through all I can do or have done on the platform. He introduced me to Utopian, where I also contribute to Open Source projects.
I work in a primary health care center (PHC) as a nurse in Lagos, Nigeria. I post updates about my work and also find time to contribute to Utopian.
Now let's go back to the primary reason for making this article: Sharing an update about my life and lessons I have learned from the ongoing bear market.

Update about me

It's severally months since my contribution to Utopian or medical updates from my work at the PHC. I have been busy at work, and the bear market hasn't been motivating to make posts in my spare time. The Utopian platform have been flooded with contributions, and the community managers are making life more difficult for contributors, (my opinion). The birth of Oracle-D have also helped but is not just enough, and I think more of such platforms should be created to help motivate Steemians to do what they love best. Creation and support of more platforms like Utopian should help bring back more Steemians to active blogging.
I see some new platforms like Knacksteem, trying to help motivate and increase blogging on Steemit, but it's being crawling due to low support of funds. The passage of the new minimum wage was great News to my ears because we take lesser than we deserve. The increment is small, but it's a step forward which will help improve the general standards of living. The increase in minimum wage will help my family access some necessary things and help boost our savings. It might be small, but as the saying goes, half bread is better than none.

IMG-20190331-WA0034.jpg

I earnestly await the implementation, which I heard would commence in May. Everyone at work is also excited about this development as we wait for its application. My daughter is 12 years old today, First of April, and my husband @princekelly will also be plus one on the 13th of April. Exciting times for me and my family this month, our daughter is starting her exams today, which leaves the celebration till later in the evening when she's back. We haven't decided fully yet, I think we should celebrate both after her exams.
At work today, we had patients report in for testing and treatments and tomorrow we will be performing general immunization of children below 1-year-old.

IMG-20190401-WA0013.jpg

The bear Market

The bear market has been difficult over the past few months; the most significant damage was on Bitcoin (BTC), where the price dropped so low, and many people lost their investments. It also affected my favorite Cryptocurrency, **Steem/SBD, which has become an extra source of income for my family. We saw the price dwindle into nothing; the price didn't improve. After speculation of an increase by Crypto experts, prices have not gotten any significant improvement. I am not an expert on the Crypto market, but the current situation has been devastating to the Crypto world. It also has affected the number of blogging contributions on Steemit. I would have continued blogging on the Steem Blockchain, but the incentive is so low that it can't even pay for enough data to use on the platform.

The initiative by @infovore is great, and we need more of such philanthropist to help improve activities on the Steem Blockchain.
Also, more incentivizing platforms like Utopian, Knacksteem, Oracle-D should be developed and financially supported.

Lessons learned from the bear market

  1. No one can truly forecast the future

  2. The Crypto world is full of ups and downs but will surely survive.

  3. Crypto has helped so many people financially.

  4. Crypto made me developed writing skills I didn't know I had.

  5. The world would be better off with the adoption of Crypto.

  6. Poor incentives can change people's perspective.

  7. Never back down and what makes you happy.

Conclusion

I believe I have been able to fulfill the rules of this contest/project. I gave my opinion to the current bear market and also discussed how to improve more activeness on the Steem Blockchain. I hope someone is reading this article and share in the idea and support @infovore. Thank you for reading, stay blessed.

Sort:  

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

thank you a bunch

I wish you good luck with the contest !

Loading...

Congratulations @arewa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Awesome, good to see people return to Steemit.

I really hope the future will bring more use cases for cryptocurrency.

Also I am happy to see you and your husband are promoting open source aswell.

Have a nice day.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks a bunch. Glad to be back.

Hello @arewa

Welcome to Steemit & Wish you luck - success with Steemit!

Currently, We're supporting for the Planktons by our small upvote. If you follow @haccolong you will get free upvote of 20 users. You may like it, Check statement here.

To get 3000points and receive additional rewards from your activities on Steemit, you can use Partiko app for your phone.

Please ignore this reply if you do not need the above.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44