backpacker #6 | Wait!!! I want to go the other way.

in #backpacker6 years ago (edited)


IMG_0730.JPG
A rainy day in Wellington, New Zealand. By @cnandofer

After three months living in Te Puke, I decided to try my luck on the south island. I've never been very organized and I don't like to plan things. So by the time I arrived at Wellington I had no idea of where I was going to sleep or what I was going to do. Not only this, my phone was dead and actually, I realized at that moment that I'm very dependent on it because I really didn't know what to do.

There was a hostel exactly in front of the bus stop, I came in and it was good but my pocket guide mentioned another one that was supposed to be one of the best hostels in New Zealand. I started walking, looking for the other hostel and after 20 minutes walking under the rain, carrying my too big backpack. I was exhausted, I decided to take a minute and just lay down in the street.

I was at an intersection, the traffic light was red at the moment and three kiwi girls shouted at me from their car.

-Heeeey! What are you doing?
-I'm lost looking for a hostel – I answered.

Then they shouted another thing that I didn't really understand and left me because the traffic light was green again. When I decided to start walking again a car stopped at my side, it was the same car with the three kiwi girls again.

-Jump in the car with us!!! We're gonna take you to the backpacker!!!

For one moment I was not sure if I should go with them but of course, I got in the car with them. Three girls in a car can't do me something bad, I thought.

When I got in the car the first thing they wanted to know was where I was from, just like the lasts times that someone asked me that, they got overexcited when I said Mexico. I was the first Mexican that they met and all of them wanted to go to Mexico someday.

I didn't know exactly where this 'supposedly amazing' hostel was, but I knew that was going east. They started the car and start driving west.

-Hey Hey! Wait!!! I want to go in that way!!!
-Nooooo!!! You want to go wherever we take you!!!

I was so tired from the walking to argue, actually I couldn't really understand them (they had a hard kiwi accent), so I just decided to obey them. They drove me around the city a little bit, they were going to a concert that night so they were just making some time with me. The gave me their number and drop me off at some place.

-Walk one block in that direction and you will find a hostel.
-Was nice to meet you!!! Call us!!! - They said.

I walked in the direction they told me and when I arrived at the hostel... It was the first hostel I got to when I arrived in Wellington one hour ago and where I didn't want to stay. At the end I was sooooo tired that I couldn't walk anymore, so I stayed there for two nights. I never saw the kiwi girls again but I have this theory where they are getting paid by the hostel for bringing lost backpacker to them.


More about backpacking in NZ.


arrl.png
arrr.png

logoFollowme.png


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cnandofer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72