Back from Steemfest...thoughts and other stuff

in #backfromsteemfest6 years ago (edited)

Thanks @anomadsoul for this little dynamic. I was thinking of making a video about this, but a freewrite isn't a bad idea either =). I apologize to those who've already read a zillion posts like these (and you're probably already puking when you hear the word Steemfest), so I promise this is the last time I will mention it. Just for the record, it's all @anomadsoul's fault LOL.

To all the people I've talked to more than once and for longer than 5 minutes, if you ever want to come to Panama, mi casa es tu casa! Google translate it if you need =)

Ok now let's get to the questions...

1) Your overall experience about the whole event.


I won't bore you with sentimentalism, because that's not my style.

  • Was it epic? YES!
  • Would I do it again? YES for sure!
  • Did I meet loads of interesting a nice people? Of course!
  • Am I sad it's over? No. I needed to sleep in my bed again, missed my dog and cats, and especially the tropical sun. But it's also not really over. The people we met are now closer to us and if we stay in touch, we can build on these relationships. It's up to us to make that happen.
  • Did I have disappointments? Yes. Some people I wish I had talked to and didn't because of lack of time, courage, or simply because I didn't see them in the crowd. Other people I met that fell behind my expectations. Fortunately these are a minority.

2) The funniest photo you took


I barely took any photos at all. I'm more about filming stuff, and I didn't do a very good job. This is a selfie I took with @teamsteem, and his expression is priceless.

teamsteem.jpg

3) The most embarrassing situation you were involved in.


I'm thanking the universe that I was not in any embarrassing situations this time. A part from losing at bowling to 2 little kids "who can't read yet" as @blewitt would put it LOL. Is there an antonym for ego-boost?

4) The coolest/most interesting story/anecdote you have about SF


When you make videos instead of written blogs, you run into the situation where people know who you are, but you don't know them. It's always such a pleasure when someone tells me "oh yeah, I've seen some of your videos". It gives me such a warm feeling, you have no idea. Well one of the steemians I met, out of the blue ran up to me and tackled me (simulating a double leg take-down). It all happened so fast and I thought what the f*%& is going on???. Turns out @adetorrent likes watching my BJJ videos, and I think that was by far the coolest introduction I had at Steemfest.

5) The photo you have with the most Steemians in it.


I don't have one, but I stole this one from @llfarms

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxHf4AVquvhKQfGXm8zTXqm3ngXsyf3My2nML7ovSo37mrYPZ3cKq1cgeFfydH7x1YUc2CipBv61LgGg7KQG95vN9oYiLJAg1jzo6fNuf2U5qLkQ4AnN29kr.jpg

6) Your new favorite Steemian (can be three, I know we met so many new people).


I was dreading this question because it's more than just 3. I met several people that I definitely want to stay in touch with. Some stick out because they have such great personalities, that you just want to be around them and hang out.

  • One of these people is @blewitt. After 10 minutes with him, you feel like you've been friends for life, and I will visit you in Jersey for sure Chris, count on it!

  • @soyrosa is by far one of my favorites. Her first word to me was "Dutch"...to which I responded "OK then..." and then we just hit it off. You're amazing girl!!!

  • @cryptogee is someone I had a long conversation about MMA and languages with during the second dinner. Such an interesting dude. Too bad time ran out to talk more, but again, it's up to us to stay in touch, and I'm sure we will.

  • Breaking the rules here, but hey, rules are meant to be broken. 2 people that came to Krakow just to meet me and @el-cr deserve to be here, and I am so happy that we finally met @matkodurko and @phortun. You guys are the best for coming out there without a SF ticket, just to say hi and hang out with us! I sure hope you make it to our side of planet at some point because we also didn't have much time to talk in just one night.

  • There's more I want to mention....@abh12345 you have awesome people reading skills! That's a great quality to have, and makes you a super human =)

OK I'll stop naming people now even though more deserve to be here ....

7) The most random photography you took with your phone and you don´t even know why it is there.


I guess this one. Not sure how my phone camera automatically focused on the wine bottle, as if it could read my mind.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-17 at 9.15.18 AM.jpg

Enjoy your weekend everyone!

eve signature.png

logo+join

Sort:  

Awesome report Eve :)) I think I have already told you like million times but it would be super shameful not to say it under this post again - me and @matkodurko totally enjoyed our time with you guys, no matter how short it was :) I am 100% sure it was not for the last time that we have seen each other.

Good to know you made it home safely. We arrived to our new Mexican home a couple of days ago. At least we are in the same climate and time zone again :D Say hi to your awesome hubby @el-cr!

Btw, the photo with the wine bottle being the only focused object in it made me laugh :DDD

oh how cool that yoare in Mexico now! I bet theclimate ismuch better =) enjoy the sun and piña coladas LOL

Where in Mexico are you? To be honest, I wish I'd knew Mexico better. I have only been to Isla Mujeres, which was nice...but I only stayed for 2 days for a wedding.

We lived on the Mayan Riviera last year (pretty close to Isla Mujeres actually) but now, we are staying in a tiny coastal village on the other side of Yucatan, surrounded mostly just by the jungle, pelicans and flamingos :) Still not as "first-hand-nature" as you but definitely closer than before ;)

Sounds interesting!!!! Tomorrow I will google this 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, that last photo is like a drunk using all the effort to get more wine.

@cryptogee is a good choice, had a good time talking and bowling with him!

And of course, it was a pleasure to meet you too! (If I hadn`t already mentioned that).

Ahhh Celestal I wanted to mention you also and so many other people. It was awesome to hang out with you =) Thanks again for the dry fruit you kept offering eheheh. Hope to see you again some day somewhere in this world!

Thanks again for the dry fruit you kept offering eheheh.

My pleasure!

Just kidding, I was trying to get rid of it, hahaha.

Hope to see you again some day somewhere in this world!

If nowhere else, hopefully in the next Steemfest!

@cryptogee is the fuckin man. We chilled for like 2 hours bouncing all over the place in conversation like we had ADHD.

Wow. I made your cut. It’s so overwhelming to read things about yourself sometimes. At least for a crybaby like myself.

True story, earlier I read Carlos’s post in which he said some lovely words as well and I went to my wife all teary eyed. I was so taken aback at all the nice things people had to say. I never in a million years expected anyone to truly give a damn about spending time with me yet all of you have made me feel truly blessed. ♥️ You all.

Ohhhh you have to give yourself more credit young man lol ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thx mom. 😉

Hahahaha - WHOA! I am super honoured I'm one of your favourites! <3 I can still see your super tired sleepy face at 4 in the morning when I was going home and you had to leave for the airport! It was such a bizarre moment for me to realize the fact it was 'over' - So sad, and I could read the pain you felt but still you smiled or tried to smile as best as you could.

I was looking forward to meeting you a lot beforehand and meeting you was as much fun as I expected and hoped! You're a bright, fun, lovely, strong person with the best smile - very contagious - love being around you. See ya next year! We'll do some Skype Calls in the meanwhile so you get over the fear of speaking Dutch :')

Hugs.

Ahahhah omg that morning was painful indeed! I even left my cellphone in the bed and realized when we were in the Taxi and so we had to go back 😂 a Skype call sounds like a brilliant idea!!! And I return the compliment about being bright fun and lovely, ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

I still need to go back and watch your videos! My week has been slammed, but maybe some time this week I'll be able to go back through and catch a little more. Sounds like everyone had a blast, so I haven't gotten tired of reading posts about it yet. :)

Ahhh no rush !! I’m still catching up with posts myself ...I need to publish a newsletter again since I couldn’t do it these past 2 weeks 😮

Posted using Partiko iOS

You can be proud of yourself and all that BJJ training. Your reflexes are impeccable with the quick arm around my neck. If that had been a real attack, I’d be toast 😥

LOL thanks ahahah. I will go work on those reflexes a little this afternoon, I need to get back on track =)

That is one moment I would`ve loved to see!

I was there, saw that... my first reaction was: "wtf I must do something" but I knew we were in SteemFest, is all good =) We did not had chance to talk much @adetorrent but I was happy that @evecab was happy to meet you and Dtube crew.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha. I can imagine. Thanks :)

Hi @evecab, it was a random meet at SteemFest on our way back to the hotel and it was for me one of the funniest talks ever.

You don't meet so often people, who live at the other end of the world, at 3:30 at night in Krakow (half drunken after #BeerSaturday) to hear, that they are from the same city or village.

That was so damn cool!

Hope you had a nice way back and make shure to say hello whenever you are in Aachen again. I know some pubs!

ahahahah yeah it was pretty cool, wasn't it? Nice coincidence!!!! I'll hit you up for sure on my next trip to Europe, although I'm not sure when that will be! You might have to come to Panama for an exotic #BeerSaturday =)

Panama is already high on our travel plans for the next time.

As Randy is close by, we might be there soon

How easy is traveling with Kids there?

Posted using Partiko iOS

HI Detlev,

Yes it's easy! Feel free to chat with em on discord and I'll help you with the planning =)

😁 Thanks Eve!

I enjoyed your company and didn't put the fly in your orange juice, honest!

ahahahahah I forgot about the fly LOL.. Likewise, I hope you come to Panama one day, or we come to Mallorca =)

@el-cr asked the glass collector for another one but the guy was doing glasses only :)

STEEM needs to get its arse into gear so I can come visit, and go to Thailand - friends in many places is pretty cool!

LOL task division, can't focus on more than one thing lol. I hought this was only the case here in Panama...

Yes, steem sucks these days, what's up with that!?. I also hope for better days to make some trips happen before, you know...

haha, naa, 'focused' people everywhere!

Crypto is bummed out, but after last week it's easy to be hopeful there are good times ahead :)

hahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @evecab! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1250 replies. Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

thanks @steemitboard =) I hope I will reach that goal soon =) After Steemfest it sure is easier to engage on posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78