How a smile can change your day

in #baby7 years ago


(Image source: Pixabay.org)


Last Thursday baby Ameerah got her first vaccination shots but sadly I wasn’t able to spend time with her…It was a busy day for me, I had to work and I also had an important trip to Manila planned. I couldn’t put off this trip because I had to go down to the embassy in order to get some information both for myself and for her. I finished work around midnight and went home to check on her for a few minutes before heading to the bus terminal.

It usually takes around 5 to 6 hours on the bus to get from Baguio city to Manila but luck wasn’t on my side. I got on the bus at 2 am and even though I was tired I couldn’t fall asleep. I did doze off from time to time but every time I would suddenly wake up because of the passenger snoring right next to me. I am very sensitive to noise especially when I am sleeping. My neck was also starting to hurt a lot. I know I should have gotten some ear plugs and one of those travel pillows but sadly I didn’t.

At around 7 in the morning right before the bus entered Manila…I was talking to my wife and I told her how tired I was so she decided to send me a video of Ameerah. I couldn’t watch it though due to bad data connectivity so I put it off for later. Now Manila is known for its traffic problems but I never expected it to be as bad as it was on that day….remember I mentioned it takes around 5 to 6 hours…this time…it took me 9 hours to get to my destination…that’s how bad the traffic was.

After getting off the bus at the terminal…I proceeded to hail myself a cab…these people will try their best to charge you high prices if you are a foreigner and you just have to put your foot down if you don’t want to be cheated. After getting a cab I managed to get to the embassy sometime after one. Thankfully I didn’t have to wait long to have a meeting with the consular even though I left the place disappointed. Turns out I have to get a lot of papers done in order to fix everything for myself and my family. What a waste of a day and money.

My business is taken care of…I am back at the bus terminal and waiting for my bus to head back. Tired, grumpy and feeling depressed…I just sat there in a daze until I received a message from my wife asking me if I had seen the video yet. I turned on my data and opened the messenger to play the video. Believe me or not after I was done with the video…I was feeling refreshed and at top of the world. Baby’s smile chased away all the negative thoughts that were running through my head as well as my tiredness.

I would like to share this video with everyone to brighten your day as well :). P.s don’t mind my wife’s overexcited tone. I still have a long way to go to fix everything up in my life for my family but hey I will do it…hopefully soon.

Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Click the Image to Join Our Discord Server:

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I took the vow of celibacy in 1906. I had not shared my thoughts with my wife until then, but only consulted her at the time of making the vow. She had no objection.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Confused about that mate.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jybrael from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Wow! Cute little bundle of bliss you've got yourself @kyrios. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you very much and you are welcome :) @rickie

She is gorgeous!! It is true that a baby smile can change your day. I just love babies!! That is a great smile - it made me smile too!! Dealing with embassies is no fun at all! We have to go to Panama City when we need to get stuff done with them (which I think we are done having to do) and it's 8 hours away. Yikes. Hope you can get your stuff taken care of soon and quickly! Nice post fellow @unmentionable!! :)

Thank you and yes I hope the embassies can provide proper assistance instead of telling us we cant do this because you have to do it another way argh..hate it sometimes.

Yeah...government agencies are no fun. I just wrote a post about dealing with car paperwork here and how you hopefully won't let all the small things turn into a huge mountain. Hoping yours gets worked out soon.

Hi @kyrios, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Aww thank you mate and I am glad it was one of your favorite reads :). I think I will be able to find a good post from someone to ramble about. :)

sounds like a good plan to ramble around those posts LOL

Baby’s smile chased away all the negative thoughts that were running through my head as well as my tiredness. I love it!!!!
You sound very busy. How easy it is to become world-weary, and what a great perspective builder it is to have that beautiful baby smiling at you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48