Soulful Sunday by A Panama Mama - A Mountain of Inconveniences

in #soulfulsunday7 years ago

This is my first Soulful Sunday post. Each week I would like to bring to you something that has inspired me during the last week or something I will bring with me into the next week. Sometimes it will be a poem or a song. Sometimes a simple Bible verse or a quote. I hope that you will leave allowing your soul to have been refreshed.

IMG_4655.JPG

“The enemy tries to make everything work out for the worst. Usually it is not the big problems which depress me, but the multitude of inconveniences which stack up like little small rocks to form an immovable mountain.” P. 137 from the book Tramp for the Lord by Corrie Ten Boom.

Panama is known for its inconveniences. I recently spent hours and hours going to get paperwork cleared to get our title transferred from Panama City to a local town. Tons of Spanish was spoken, one hour each way in the car every time, tons of copies…the list went on and on. It was so inconvenient, but it had to be done. I had to stick with it, be patient and hope for favor to be able to accomplish this task. The tons of tiny inconveniences get to me and tend to make me snippy with my husband, kids and others…I could have given up, but I kept going and praying, all the while knowing that God was on my side. I can figure this paperwork out. I can be polite to the lady who doesn’t like to talk to me because my Spanish isn’t perfect. I can keep a positive attitude. We did not let the enemy win and get us down, and we accomplished our goal with time sensitive paperwork.

If you do encounter a mountain this week, remember what Psalm 3:4 says. “I call out to the Lord, and he answers me from his holy mountain.” Call out and let the Lord help you deal with your mountain of inconveniences.

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Soulful Sunday will be brought to you here every Sunday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for quotes, poems, songs and verses to jump start your week.
If you have a comment, feel free to leave me a reply.
Thanks for visiting! May the Lord bless you and keep you.

Sort:  

I think I have read all Corrie Ten Boons books - great post !

Me too! Really love her. She was an amazing woman who went through so much!

I think it's always very easy to let small things frustrate us. It's equally as easy to take our our frustrations on others, but patience is one of the fruits of the Spirit, so we hope it can overcome in these situations.

Corrie ten Boom is a fascinating character in history. The Hiding Place is probably one of my favorite nonfiction novels of all time.

Thanks for sharing.

Yes, love The Hiding Place. This was her sequel to it. Followed up on her story after leaving the concentration camp. She was an amazing woman of God who overcame so much! Thanks for the reply!

Right, we gotta tackle each problem one at a time or they can build up fast and be overwhelming. Have a good weekend

Very true! Not fun if you let stuff pile up! Thanks for the comment.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69229.38
ETH 3686.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43