You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing myself

in #ayahuasca6 years ago

Well I'm a heavy VC guy in tech and I have founded lots of tech projects and got a few Cayman crypto projects. Until I started using STEEMIT I was impressed with some unique things about the community. I'm not impressed with a 1 post 1 day account going to 35 Rep.

I'm not impressed with the obvious BOTS praising high rep accounts saying they saw a video that has no views on a 3rd party site.

The big problem with any social tech platform is it's organic natural growth and right now I'm seeing a few players controlling everything here.

Nothing wrong with that, but the public needs to know before they invest sweat into this community that the game is stacked.

I'm sure there's quite a few people here making what to many is a nice amount of coin, it's not to me, I'm more interested in the value of the project and if it's 99% bots like most of the net it has little VC value to me and I sure will have to pull back my public praise of STEEM and STEEMIT.

So I personally still 'like' the idea, but the reality is starting to hit me, this is a very controlled game here.

A whale or player blesses a new player they can make minor coin (6 figures) but the real players will be reaping the VC reward as the coin goes from 1 Billion to 10 then 100 BILLION BUCKS.

So when a new user comes into the game and in 1 day and 1 post goes 10 up in Rep I say BULLSHIT it's manipulated

Just like when the rockstar of STEEMIT who is @papa-pepper has a ton of comments praising a video that no one has seen, it stinks to me.

I'm 100% sure @papa-pepper is real, but the army of bots upvoting him to profit and praise his videos that have no views makes me laugh.

So the fake comments and upvotes by bots on @papa-pepper and now this hand picked account are just two obvious RED FLAGS the game is stacked.

Which is fine, a lot of money can be made in a stacked game if you're one of the stackers.

This site obviously needs REAL COMPELLING content and also a way to monetize it to attract more players into a stacked game.

I'm concerned though by the real players trying to build something of value when the value is centralized and controlled by the few here.

So if Marco is real or not is not really the point, it's how this account was blessed to become a star attraction so fast.

That is my concern what accounts are hand picking what new accounts to shine trending power on.

It's still early in this game, 700K users of which 7K to 70K is real is still a lot of players.

But the 700K is BULLSHIT.

That's fine, tons of projects had fake accounts early in their creation just to look busy and justify VC money coming in.

Most of the dating companies did it, other social media did it, that's why 90% of the net today is fake bot traffic.

If the real accounts coming in see this, and they realize this account was CHOSEN to star, then they might not want to invest their time and energy into this game.

That's the point of me shining a light and asking questions, how did this happen, what accounts chose this account and what is really happening here.

Just like I'm sure @papa-pepper doesn't care about if his upvotes are bots and if his comments are bots, he's making his coin like other chosen accounts do.

I'm just glad I didn't send a huge bankroll into here to grab 10K or 100K steem into a stacked game then powering up that dough into SP and being stuck here 13 weeks.

Disclosure as to how this game really works is all I'm looking for.

Lot's of misinformation here, such as hard work and compelling good content gets rewarded.

You think this was fair to new users putting in weeks and months of real legit content that is often very good and yet they're stuck on 25 reps.

So that's why I'm wasting my very valuable time here saying how did this account jump in 1 post and 1 day to what took me 4 days with 100+ posts and comments to obtain and that's a feat doing it in 4 days when most new users take weeks and or months to try to get 10 points of rep.

You're almost whale level, which I consider starts at 70+, I haven't looked at your account to see age or value etc, but I'm sure you're real. You might be an early adopter and grew naturally great.

But to see this account with 1 post in 1 day get trending status and pop 10 points in rep makes this whole game STINK.

So there will be no influx of STEEM into my account to power up as I was planning to do soon.

I can see the game is stacked and now I'm just looking around to see who is stacking it.

Sort:  

Marco got attention for this post because he put it in front of us... He tagged a bunch of us on Facebook. If his Steemit reputation has risen quickly, it's only because it's coming in line with his real reputation, and he's taken the time to promote his work, and of course because he had a little luck in having some friends who were already on the platform. Reputation works on a logarithmic or quadratic scale, so it's quite easy to rise from 25 to 35, but harder to rise from 35 to 45 and so on.

I know Steemit isn't perfect, and a lot of the time good content can slip through the cracks. Of course people who are well-connected do tend to get their work recognised easier. I know it can be disheartening if your work isn't recognised. I don't think it benefits you or anyone else to call it "stacked", or to call people's profiles "fake". This is a social media platform, and making connections counts.

People here have worked very hard to make this a site where people are polite, respectful and uplifting, where you're even free to disagree without being attacked, as happens on so many platforms. I would love it if you decide to adopt that vision as your own.

Good luck and have fun.

Well said Kurt.
I would like to add my own case to this example. I joined steam just 4 days ago. I put a lot of time and effort into the right things, in the first 24 hours utilising advice from a friend already on steemit.
Muchas gracias hermano :)
and from watching beginners guide videos produced by veteran steemit users that i found by searching, echoing the same advise.
The result;
Day 1 - 28
Day 2 - 34
Day 3 - 36
All I'm doing is what the steemit community beginners guides, and my friends are recommending that I do, and it appears to be working.
Peace.

Loading...

I understand your concern, I'm a legit individual, running my own account, native.world is run by me and other members of that organization.
I accidentally replied with the wrong account.
Kurt knows me and my organization.
I'll try to stay focused here, I'm very new to Steemit and still trying to learn the basics.
I'm not here for the money, I'm here to avoid censorship.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69394.55
ETH 3894.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73