#runforsteem challenge and another spring run in the NWT

in #aviation6 years ago (edited)

Today, I ran a challenging, but beautiful and comfortable 11km. I brought along my camera, so that I could show you more Yellowknife trails. :)

First, the strava evidence, to secure entry into @jemowa's terrific runforsteem challenge.

Untitled-2.jpg

New route today, running Findlayson through Parker Field and across Range Lake.

The trails are well-marked and easy to find, but with all the fresh snow lately, that didn't help as much as it might have. Tough lake crossing, with my feet sinking pretty well every step.

This led me into a series of streets, but I found my way out to civilization fairly quick, shooting this gem about 3km in to the run.

DJK34997.jpg

I know what your thinking - WOW! Mary Browns Chicken!!! How exciting!!! How did you ever keep going with THAT tempting you along?

Well, I'm no superhero, I wouldn't have been as confident running past it if I hadn't secured some of this chicken already. It is the evening meal at the Curling Club, where I will watch Judi's last game.

In addition, I mainly brought the camera along in hopes of running by Buffalo Airways to see if they were able to let me go out on the ramp and shoot. (spoiler alert - Mikey is a terrific guy and was very accommodating)

DJK35006.jpg

I fucked up this shot good and proper, by leaving my ISO set to 'photographing moving subjects while running around drunk at night'. This is a great setting, with unbelievable capability when used correctly.

It's not exactly made for a bright, sunny, perfect day on the ramp, with a shiny war vet like this. I want to add here, go get stuff from Buffalo. They have hats, shirts and all that stuff, but really, hire them to haul loads into remote mine sites, or communities out of the reach of roads. This is history, unfolding right in front of us where we can touch it. I'm SO happy that the McBryan family make it easy to access.

Here is one more screwed-up image, just because even with technical failures on the image, it is still one handsome aircraft.

DJK35008.jpg

I next ran the Bristol segment (breaking 3 minutes this time!) and dug into the trails again. Here is the first split. I headed for the stairs instead of the bzeach.

DJK35015.jpg

I wear a chest harness to carry my dslr made by Cotton Carrier. With the 8mm on, if I leave the camera mounted, and just swivel it over, I can show you the trail thusly.

DJK35019.jpg

I revisited the Yellowknife Xpress way, and this time tried it out. It was a lovely route to Frame Lake. Xpress my ass though. This was the scenic route.

DJK35021.jpg

Onward, to the Frame Lake Connector. Soft and squishy and a bit more of a calf workout than it should be.

DJK35024.jpg

This was a bit steep to run in these conditions, but as it melts, it should get 'easier'.DJK35029.jpg

Please excuse the build-up of ice on the lens. I didn't bring a scraper.

Lastly, a nice bench. The bench is dedicated to one Marylyn Robertson. There is a plaque on another spot on this trail with her name on it. All I know about her is that she had great taste in trails, and new just where to sit and look at Frame Lake.

DJK35032.jpg

Thanks for running by. Check out the #runforsteem weekly contest put on by @jumowa and come run with me!

Current contest link - https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-mar-27th-apr-3rd-and-payout-for-last-week

Sort:  

Nice adventure. Must be awesome to have so much nature near your home. Total fan of wide angel shots and love the scenery - so many activity possibilities.

Please remember to link the challenge.

You don't have to run again. You can edit your post for up to seven days after posting pressing the button at the buttom of your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51