Draw Me An Avatar Contest #1 : "Vector kennik''

in #avatarcontest6 years ago (edited)

dd.jpg


Avatar Contest by @kennik

Hello Steem! This is my entry for my friend's contest, @kennik.

I saw many talented people who joined the contest and they did a great job on their own artworks. And I was like..

hmm-2716706.png
Source

Recently, I'm trying to learn how to use Adobe Illustrator because my friends recommended to me due to my vector works. (which I still suck) So, without hesitation I started to use Illustrator and I will show my process making this art. This will be short since I'm still learning the whole interface and etc. Please bear with me :)

Note. THIS IS MY FIRST TIME MAKING A VECTOR ART IN ILLUSTRATOR. You may check my previous tutorial about Vector Art in Photoshop. It has the very same thought or process on making a vector art. So, lets start..

I. Prepare a reference

I picked this one for his contest.

DQmNVY7GVbRZHYaTfWvuw9BgnZmpQpdyA3VjDRC18rM8ttE (1).jpg

II. Open to Illustrator

You can see the red outline? Yes, that is a path using Pen Tool. The great part in Illustrator is that you can have a freedom on your stroking and not requiring to close the shape.

1.png

  • I changed the color of my stroke and already traced the head part.

3.png

  • If you checked my previous tutorial about making a vector art in Photoshop. I mentioned about the Dress Up Game and applying in the process. You can ignore some lines as long you cover it with other color.

4.png

5.png

  • On using Pen Tool, you can assign a color for your stroke while making a shape. You can see that I put some colors on the shapes and still maintaining the a black stroke.

6.png

III. Coloring

The fun part will be the coloring part. Since we're done with tracing, we can now add some colors by making a new layer under the layer where we trace.

7.png

  • I used a different color for the midtone for the meantime. This is part where we can experiment colors that will fit.

8.png

9.png

  • Now, I now used a proper color for the midtone. You can check at the bottom right part of the screen, you can see the color palletes that I used.

11.png

VI. Details

After coloring your skin, we can now make a illusion by making a brighter or darker color to emphasize the shadow and light part.

13.png

  • You can always change the color of the shapes that you are using.

14.png

  • After adding some shadows on the shirt, midtone, and the hair. We can now finish the whole art by doing the same process on detailing. I'm now adding colors on the tattoo.

15.png

  • Then adding some background.

dd.jpg



I really enjoyed making this art since it's my first time using Illustrator and I think I'm already hooked. It is more precise than the old process that I'm doing. I really found it amazing and am sure I'll making more vector art soon.

*Please do check out the contest of @kennik and support his project with other local artists. He is currently looking for sponsors who can help out. You guys can check it here.

Check this awesome guys blogs!

@struggstudent
@embity
@roldamn
@christinecegare
@jacinta.sevilla
@noellesevilla
@steemph.davao

Support the movement of this awesome leaders!

@surpassinggoogle
@davemccoy
@mudcat36
@bestproject

Thank you reading my entry and hoping you're a wonderful day!



DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.png

Sort:  

I wish it'll be curied. So amazing!

Thanks @lebron2016 really appreciate it!

So great vector art! Nice onee.

Thanks @ydal! Try to make one also!

upvoted resteemed 😂 best of luck! 😉

This post has received a 0.09 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thank you @msp3k I do appreciate will continue doing more content

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86