The Old Dog Says: Don't Be Just A Shadow Of Yourself! Post Includes a How Not to Video!

in #avatar7 years ago (edited)

Have You Been Seeing Too Many Shady Characters On Steemit?



The Problem of The No Avatar No Info User

I love posting and interacting with other Steemers but as I do so I still notice that a large number of members aren't using the settings feature to upload an avatar and a profile about their blog. This is a handicap in getting people to know and follow them. 

Here Are A few Examples

 1.) Below you can see the joyful Steemer @happyhousewife. You'll notice that she has no avatar and no description of her blog. She's doing great and you should visit her blog but it could be even better!




2.) Below is another example of a great Steemer @pictures-n-poems, who is also without an avatar! When I commented that she should upload an avatar she replied that she hadn't figured out how to do that yet! Don't worry there's a how to video for her at the end of the post!



How Pervasive Are The Non Avatar Shadowy Figures?

If you go to Busy.org you can see a list of all of your followers together with their avatars. If you look at a couple of screen shots that I made of my first two pages of followers you'll see a lot of silhouettes! Too bad!



In the screenshots above 15 out of 36 haven't uploaded and avatar!

 Have A Look At This Quick Video Showing How To Fix Up Your Profile!



What About You?

  • Have you uploaded an avatar and a description about your blog!
  • Do you recommend to others that they do so?
  • Have you checked out busy.org?


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

Hey @kus-knee, another great post. Yes it did about two hours for me to upload my profile picture as we need a third party imaging service to get the image link. I didn't use busy.org. Yes I tell others when I tell them about steemit and let them know how to use all the fields in the setting tab.

That's great that you're helping others to know their way around here @mathworksheets!

2 hours to upload your image! That doesn't sound right!

You might want to try using postimage.io for me it works great!

It took two hours as I didn't know that steemit needed the third party image storage and need a link. I tried google docs but didn't work. Then finally I asked my referrer @rustysmetals for it. I still remember that day.

But isn't it funny that it took 1 minute for me to upload the above image. I use imgur.com for it.

This [no avatar, no profile information] is a handicap in getting people to know and follow them.

If I know the thoughts of someone by really reading his articles and comments I may know him better than in case I (only) know his appearance, the kind of job he is doing, his nationality, his religion, ... For me that are just numbers - I am interested in his thoughts which tell me more about his personality than any other facts.

That means for me an avatar, a real name or other additional attributes doesn't matter so much (apart from that I think that everybody has to decide himself, how much he likes to reveal his private life and information about himself).
Nevertheless I like the avatars of some people and find some additional information interesting - I just don't consider them as kind of "requirements".

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Thanks a lot! :)

Good points @jaki01! Everyone is free to put or not put what they want and that's a beautiful thing. I LOVE your avatar! Do you take the picture somewhere? It's fabulous!

Nice to read that you like that sunset. :)
Some years ago I still lived in a habitation in the fifth floor of a big building. From there I had a good overview and could make some nice photos. This avatar picture is one of them.

Thank you for helping to get comfortable!

Great info here for users not sure on how to do it old dog!!

That reminds me, I really keep meaning to put something on my profile!!!

You should have a great description about yourself! "Multi talented, funny, etc... etc..."

Lol, it would end up being drab. I will definitely try something though!

If an original mind like yours can't do it no one can!

Hehe, alright. I will give it my best shot!

At first I had no idea of Steemit and all the settings. But the first thing I found was the possibility to add an avatar and a description. After all, my recognition value increases because I am in several social networks to find. It is a great idea of you to explain with a video.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

many thanks my friend @kus-knee

Thanks a lot for having a look and for the positive feedback!

Thanks, you are providing useful information to improve our steemit platform. What we need is a lot of convinced supporters who work together. I hope my profile fulfilles your strong requirements.
By the way, I belong to the people who show many aspects of their lifes, the outside as well as the inside. So I think I am quite transparent to all of my followers. Cari saluti e buon fine di settimana.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Best bone I ever got!
Tante grazie. Sei meravilioso.

You really do provide a wide variety of great content! Your avatar looks fantastic by the way!

I just updated my avatar yesterday,still didn't see improvement.Do i need to change it?

Your avatar looks fantastic! Just keep making great comments and blogging and slowly but surly things will get better and better!

Thanks for the encouragement sire

Thank you @kus-knee,i'm checking it up right now

Anyway your introduction post is doing great!

I customized the 'shady' avatar ...

Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!
The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

I have an avatar. What is the use of it?

It looks nice and makes you unique!

Thanks for the answer. I think that every person is unique ..

That's for sure. I went and looked at your blog. Lovely photos!

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55