Reflections on Light and Leaves [Photos][Thoughts]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #autumn6 years ago

20181011_135135.jpg

20181011_135052.jpg

20181011_135153.jpg

20181011_135303.jpg

20181011_135329.jpg

20181011_135201.jpg

20181011_135339.jpg

#Photos of my #gravevine with leaves ripening up to the changing season. I took these photos on a very warm sunny day with a blue sky, and the time was right for a colorful photo opportunity. Maybe someone can use these an inspiration for #painting, #poetry, or some other #art. A week after I took these photos, the leaves have continued to ripen, almost to the same deep purple color that the fruit was. There are only a few more leaves barely hanging on.

Nature and life often echo one another. Today I visited my old facebook feed, which I hadn't looked at in over a year. Videos of naked people, uninvited political indoctrination, friends trying to market their businesses and charities, and some photos of people who left my life long ago, enjoying themselves, almost painful to look at. New features include more ads and pop-ups under every mouse click waiting to be discovered. (Additionally, the "big blue message bar" informing me about apps they banned after all of my information that was leaked, that they claimed I do not need to not worry about, I really didn't enjoy that as the first thing I was forced to see.)

It was a lot harder to find genuine open content from friends than I thought it would be. Have most of them gone silent because of the mob censorship mentality? How much content were my friends posting, that I was not allowed to see? All of the comments on posts I read were now messages about "fake news" and "fact checking". It is easy to see why I stopped logging in.

As a last ditch effort I posted a sort of goodbye message. Facebook #friends need to stop relying on facebook as their primary tool to reach me, and they should already know the other ways I prefer to be reached if they really know me well. I made a suggestion to my friends to consider using #steemit as an alternative to facebook for #networking and #blogging if they want to be free from #censorship, filters, and #negativity.

I am ready to move on in my life and complete my #transformation. Next step will be following through and learning to delete the account, protecting my safety and sanity.

Steemit is my home for social online activity, and it has been so for the past year.

Bonsai!

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Account Value: $1,488.48Votes Given / Received: 3,941 / 9,294
SP: 1,802.12Posts / Comments: 244 / 1,803
STEEM / SBD: 0.753 / $6.522Delegated In / Out: 187 / 180
REP: 62.89Followers: 1,611 / 195 following
Curation Rewards: 2.501 SPAuthor Rewards SP / S / SBD: 1.302 / 0 / 0

STEEM In / Ex = 0.822 / 0.83526BTC / ETH/ LTC = 6775 / 214 / 55.4
SBD = 1.02137Gold/Silver oz. = 1,230.65 / 14.78

Value of Currencies in USD $ on this Day


Do you have a story to share about leaving facebook or you old friends behind? Let me know in the comments below.

Sort:  

You captured that beautiful light I have been reveling in this autumn! So lovely.

I started work on my FB account last winter, as I had a LOT of homesteading info I had posted that I wanted to save and archive. I've not posted to the account since May, except when my husband was injured. I hope to finish the archiving this winter and close it down.

Steem On! @creativetruth nicely said on Facebook. Lovely pictures. Light and fall colors are a wonderful combination. Sad that fall is so fleeting.

right on! way to shill steemit to your facebook friends. i recently got on as well and i quickly remembered (for many of the reasons you listed) why i no longer use facebook. this place has true connection and content! plus no ads or marketing (and my data isn't sold!) a win win-- also beautiful photos of the leaves. isn't it amazing how when we just stop and take a close look, even the most simple of things have such exquisite beauty <3 hope you have a great day!

I do miss the fall colors. Down here it is just green grass or dead looking grass.

Facebook is a cesspool everything of like what you said, but I still use it for getting in touch with my relatives and saying what comes into my mind that some random people might ponder about @creativetruth

Congratulations @creativetruth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75