GK's Callout - New Spambot, 'Goodbot,' Unhelpful at Best ๐Ÿ‘ˆ

in #automation โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

spambots-pridelands.png

Hi Friends,

Some of you may have noticed a new presence in the spam bot world. If you post more than once in IntroduceYourself, an account named '@goodbot' will comment on your post with a tally of how many times you've used the hashtag and an account of @felixxx 's rules of engagement with the hashtag.

I am all for keeping Steemit clean. But spamming others to do so makes no sense.

How long will it be before someone makes a bot that comments on goodbots comments?


Everyone wants those those marginal daily upvotes at scale, yet we have to remember that is the system we're trying to get away from.

My argument for using #IntroduceYourself is sometimes you are talking about #IntroduceYourself like in this paragraph, and now goodbot will 100% comment and tell me Im a pos, using steemit all wrong. Omg. Bad GK ~ What you gunna do about it... punk?

Now any good critique must have some sort of alternative, as the problem of a cluttered hashtag remains.

If you have an idea of how we can clean up tags without the use of spam (positive punishment) I'd love to discuss it in the comments below.

โ‡ฝ Last Post | All Posts | Next Post โ‡พ

Follow @gktown

Sort: ย 

Hi !
This is an automatic message.
According to SteemData, you have now used #introduceyourself 6 times.

You might not be aware of this, but #introduceyourself is mainly used by new accounts, to introduce themselves once. Please consider other, appropriate tags.

Lol, well, you weren't kidding! You blew your whistle and the bot came a'runnin! I agree. This is an unnecessary bot. Let the tag take care of itself. This is not a big deal. To be clear, Gk, are you saying that goodbot downvotes you as well as comments?

No it doesn't downvote. I would be calling it more than unhelpful if that were the case :P

Lol, got it! Sigh. I don't want to add to the numerous posts that I'm seeing lately on downvoting, spamming, and vote begging, but I'm getting quite alarmed by the number of times that I've seen established Steemians suggest that if the rest of us are not using the platform just how they want it to be used, then they'll use their significant downvote power to force the issue. I understand the concept behind the downvote, but I also am alarmed by it.

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

Yeah, like Im not gunna downvote goodbot or felixxx. I'd rather discuss it as a group. Clearly Felixxx identifies a problem. I can see it too. But yelling 1000 times into the void isn't necessarily fixing anything and it will definitely generate income and unnecessary clutter.

Hence, unhelpful at best :P

Oh THE IRONY! LOL!

Introductions should run long on steemit, so we can know the person behind the posts!

The only reason you insist on the tag is that you get more exposure from it.

The only reason you bot is to get exposure and guilt others.

How's that ironic ?

That he called it and it came and spammed.
Useless bot imho.

Yeah you created it.
There are hundreds of these bots trashing the introduction pages of posts ?? it's ugly and turns people off. You need to tweak it to something other then what is now. I don't know what that is.

I agree, those bots are spammy and trash.

However, goodbot only comments, when a user decides to use the newbie-intro tag more than twice.

Those other spam bots are the spammers.

I dig your last post | all posts | Next Post thing going on in the footer..!

That's freaking hilarious! :-D No, wait - it's actually the plural form of the word, Hilarious - which, I believe, would be...

Hippoputumus... Hippopotomii
Hilarious... Hilarii ???
IDK. It just made me laugh out loud, though.

Hiphopanonymous

That's exactly what I was meaning to say! (Big Daddy reference noted!)

Nice!

Welcome to Steemit, @gktown!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

Here's another example of an annoying, and useless spam-bot.

I mean, how "personal" and "welcome" does it make anybody feel to receive an automatic bot greeting. It feels much the same as going to my mailbox and seeing that I received another credit-card offer. No thanks.

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

Le sigh. Those of us who do not write bot code would also like there not to be bots, if for no other reason than it makes it harder for original content to rise to the top. There's a lot of sifting to do.

I do like @gentlebot, though, since all it does is upvote.

TY for this!

Upvoted!

Welcome! Hope you enjoy Steemit and share good content with us!

Welcome to this amazing community!! Followed. Follow me back ๐Ÿ˜˜

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

You're a bot? Or just someone who didn't read the post?

Or, I guess, a regular person's real account who uses a bot.

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33