You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Autism Club: Autism Awareness Swag - Do We Really Need It?

in #autism8 years ago (edited)

If the other parents wouldn't look at him when he stims, then look at me as if to say, "Are you aware that he's doing that?"
Yes, I'm aware.

I can only imagine some of the sour faces you must get. Yikes. I know I've made a nasty one or two at a parent of a screaming child (and/or the child) when I was younger. This is great perspective to keep in mind. Thank you for sharing this piece of your journey with the community @jazzyfish

Sort:  

Thank you, @randyclemens At first, it's usually a look of confusion. Especially, when we are at the grocery store because all the wheels on all the carts set him off. It really looks like he's giving everyone a very emphatic "Hello", so most people start with a smile. My son is adorable. It's hard not to smile at him! haha! That smile turns to concern as they raise their gaze to meet mine, as if they are wondering if I know there is something off. Not everyone is sour about it, but you can always tell when they don't understand or aren't willing to try to understand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51