You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When you dont see it coming, it hits just a little harder!

in #autism6 years ago

@mumofmany - I saw a few upvotes from you on my posts and I am sorry I haven't taken the time to go through all your recent posts. I am glad that I did though, because this really moved me:

Every person has challenges in their life. This is mine. I wouldn't change any one of my children. Not for all the money in the world. They are each exceptional. They are all beautifully different. They are all perfect, just the way they are.

If you read my posts on #steemiteducation and #education you will see that I am not a big fan of how the current education system and mental health professionals deal with children that have equal yet slightly different needs to they group that they classify as being 'normal'.

I feel as though something different, a new way of thinking or approach is required to help address mental and physical well-being. I have seen very young children who would otherwise be overly enthusiastic sit down quietly doing origami or calligraphy and you wonder why every child can't be given the right environment, activity and care to reach their full potential.

I feel as though you have embraced the challenge and that in Australia it is not easy to get the support/assistance required. I will follow your journey and hope that Steemit can make a bigger difference to you and your children :)

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind words.
I agree that the correct learning environment is different for each child and the current system does not allow for individual needs. My son is unable to perform under certain pressure and was not doing well in terms of his grades. Now his teacher does all his testing privately and verbally (he has massive fine motor skill delays) the change is incredible.
Getting the support and assistance is not easy, they have age limits and don't offer nearly enough assistance even to those who do qualify.
You can bet I'm up for the challenge, it has its moments but like I said, I wouldn't change a thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87