When you dont see it coming, it hits just a little harder!

in #autism6 years ago

Today is Thursday and normally for us that means therapy for Master 4. However we had a call from Master 10's psychologist and she asked if we could bring him in to discuss his resent diagnosis.

IMG_2422.JPG

Normally I would have gotten someone to babysit Master 4, Miss 3 and Miss 1 but unfortunalty on such short notice there was no one available. So they had to tag along.

Once we arrived at her office she offered to lock the practise so we could talk and the kids could continue to play in the waiting room. So of we went to start our conversation about Master 10. Things were going as expected, the little ones would come in and out and all things considered they were behaving pretty well.

IMG_2731.PNG

During one such intrusion, Michelle, Master 10's doctor started to ask some questions about little Miss 3. I didn't think anything if it at the time, we continued talking about Master 10 and created a plan of action for the upcoming holidays and the start of next year. Then when we were coming to the end of our allotted hour when she asked if she could spend a few minutes talking to Miss 3.

My face must have said a lot, I just had a feeling that something big was about to happen. She began to ask a few more questions about some of Miss 3's behaviours and development. All of which have been either on par or advanced for her age. She has brilliant speech, above average skills in counting and reading for a 3 year old and doesn't display any of the signs that my boys did when they were her age.

Her fine motor skills are what one would expect for a 3 year old. She does have a few behaviours that are a little quirky but again, every child has their little mannerisms and so does she.

IMG_0967.JPG

After about 15 minutes she calmly turned to me and said, "Miss 3 is Autistic." I nearly fell of my chair. She continued to explain. She is extremely high functioning, as was Master 10, but she is definetly Autisic.

My reaction was total disbelief. I would have thought having 3 children already on the spectrum that I would be skilled enough to notice if my girls showed any of the signs. I was wrong. She explained in great detail that girls display very different signs than boys do when they are on the spectrum. We spent a long time discussing Miss 3 and I left with yet another mountain of forms and questionnaires that she would like me to complete.

IMG_0211.JPG

So today I have been placed back at the beginning of another journey. I have spent my day reminding myself that a diagnosis is not a bad thing. It is just a label that allows my children to access the help they require, when the need it.

Michelle went to great lengths to remind me that every child is different, although Miss 3 currently has no issues that need direct attention this may change over time as she developes and knowing early on that she is on the Autism spectrum will only assist me in the future if she does have difficulties. If they be emotional or physical we will be prepared, or she may have no major challenges and just see the world in her own way and manage just fine without any assistance at all.

I've also been trying to remind myself that had we had an earlier diagnosis for Master 10 we may have been able to combat some of the major issues he is facing at the moment a lot sooner. We would have been better equipped to deal with past meltdowns and anxieties if we had the knowledge we have now.

That being said it is still a shock. I am now the parent to 4 children with Autism. All 4 are different. All 4 have their own journey and I'm in the navigation seat. I'm responsible for making sure their needs are met and I'm responsible for recognising those needs when they cannot do it for themselves.

IMG_2597.JPG

The challange is huge. Not to mention I now also have to keep note of any behaviours Miss 1 displays as the chance she is also in he spectrum just jumped up a significant amount.

To say it has been a stressful week already would be an understatement. As the year comes to an end I look back in the past few months and wonder how it is that we have survived, it has been an emotional roller coaster, especially for my boys but now I think to myself, how are we going to cope in the coming months.

You never know what life has in store for you. If you had said to me when I was 20 that I would be here where i am today I would have laughed.

Every person has challenges in their life. This is mine. I wouldn't change any one of my children. Not for all the money in the world. They are each exceptional. They are all beautifully different. They are all perfect, just the way they are.

IMG_2730.PNG

When i asked the psychologist where do I go from here? She simply said "Just keep doing what you are doing." So that's what I'm going to do. I will take each day as it comes. I will tackle each set back and drama as they unfold just like everybody else.

Thank you for sharing my journey with me.

@mumofmany

Sort:  

you're doing a very good job. keep it up!

Hey, my sister has triplets all autistic the only in the world. Her step kids actually, none the less what are your thoughts regarding vaccinations linked to autism? Have you tried cannabis oil? Apparently if they are young it can be reversed, maybe also research Jim Humble and MMS? Many videos on youtube. x x Cheer$;)

awesome orchids.jpg

Wow, triplets and all with autism, that would be a challenge.
I don't believe from the research I have done that Autism is directly related to vaccines, I know some people strongly disagree with me on this.
I hadn't heard of cannibis oil being used on children with autism so I will have to look into that.
I will also have to have a look at Jim Humble as I haven't heard of him. I'm still at the very early stages of my research and have been so busy with 6 kids and therapy that I really haven't had the time, but I'm getting there. Thanks for your comment.

From what I know if you get them young it can be reversed. . Big pharma naturally would never admit to vaccines causing it. .when after vaccination did you realize autism? The triplets were all perfect. . Once vaccinated all autustic there isnt a doubt in my mind vaccinations cause it. . Cheer$;)

Oh, well then! Yeesh O_O

Lucky child couldn't be in better hands though :)

goatsig

Thank you,
I expect by the time I finish raising my little munchkins I will be somewhat of an expert lol.

@mumofmany - I saw a few upvotes from you on my posts and I am sorry I haven't taken the time to go through all your recent posts. I am glad that I did though, because this really moved me:

Every person has challenges in their life. This is mine. I wouldn't change any one of my children. Not for all the money in the world. They are each exceptional. They are all beautifully different. They are all perfect, just the way they are.

If you read my posts on #steemiteducation and #education you will see that I am not a big fan of how the current education system and mental health professionals deal with children that have equal yet slightly different needs to they group that they classify as being 'normal'.

I feel as though something different, a new way of thinking or approach is required to help address mental and physical well-being. I have seen very young children who would otherwise be overly enthusiastic sit down quietly doing origami or calligraphy and you wonder why every child can't be given the right environment, activity and care to reach their full potential.

I feel as though you have embraced the challenge and that in Australia it is not easy to get the support/assistance required. I will follow your journey and hope that Steemit can make a bigger difference to you and your children :)

Thank you for your kind words.
I agree that the correct learning environment is different for each child and the current system does not allow for individual needs. My son is unable to perform under certain pressure and was not doing well in terms of his grades. Now his teacher does all his testing privately and verbally (he has massive fine motor skill delays) the change is incredible.
Getting the support and assistance is not easy, they have age limits and don't offer nearly enough assistance even to those who do qualify.
You can bet I'm up for the challenge, it has its moments but like I said, I wouldn't change a thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98