How to catch a monkey…. let’s not be monkeys on Steemit

in #authors8 years ago (edited)

Growing up on a farm in Africa you learn a few skills that most people in general don’t.

One I learned was how to catch a monkey.


1 You take a pumpkin or other large suitable fruit with seeds
2 Make a hole in it that will fit the monkey’s hand
3 Make sure the pumpkin seeds inside are visible
4 Place it in an area frequented by monkeys
5 Watch and wait

The monkeys will come down from the trees, insert their hand into the pumpkin to grab the seeds.
Once their hand has a fist full of seeds it’s too big to extract from the smaller hole.

The monkey is not “bright” enough or too greedy to let go of the prized seeds and refuses to open its fist.
You can then approach and capture the monkey alive and uninjured.

They will not let go even to escape.

I put up a post about the split personality of steemit and it featured greed as the arch nemesis of steemit.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@gavvet/the-split-personality-of-steemit
Greed on steemit has the potential to trap us just like monkeys.

We see many manifestations of greed in many forms on steemit and that is to be expected. There is money involved. Its one of the value propositions of the platform. Greed is what brings many people here in the first place and then they discover all the other great elements of the platform.

We simply need to channel and manage our own greed and make it work for everyone.

Last week, I noticed my post earnings shot through the roof… all told about $10 000 for the week. In my book that’s excessive for just a couple of posts… not enough balance of value in my opinion.

My first response was the natural, greedy response….

I should post more often… I’m going to make a killing.

Then with a little sobering reflection I realized this attitude would likely hurt others while I benefitted. Everything I receive would be at the expense of someone else.

And so a new plan…

The fact that I have a large bot following and that minnows continue to upvote my posts way beyond their realistic value... even when I ask them not too (see link) can be utilized for good.
https://steemit.com/voting/@gavvet/minnow-voting-power-from-the-record-usd30-000-makeup-post-perspective

I have always looked at the stats for the number of users of steemit by continent and have been saddened by how Africa and Oceania lag behind.

So my plan is to assist good authors from the lesser represented areas of the world starting with Africa.

So I'm experimenting with a new method of growing the author community diversity.
I am hoping to promote/feature authors from my continent in order to help them get a following and become Tuna's and Dolphins.
Once they have a following, they, I'm sure, will do the same.

The plan is to promote a couple of authors for a couple of weeks and then to repeat the cycle with new authors.

All the liquid rewards for the post will go to them to buy STEEM and power up their accounts. Then I move on to the next authors I feel are producing good, diverse content that will expand the diversity of topics and content on STEEM.

The STEEM power from the post will remain in my account, to help improve the strength of my voting finger. That way I will be able to reward even more diverse content and "up and coming" authors that otherwise might be missed with vote love.

I’m in STEEM for the long run and shortsighted, selfishness and greed from myself and other high earning authors could hurt the platform in the short term and even ourselves in the long run.

Let’s be creative…

Let’s find ways to spread the rewards so that all may benefit in the short and long term.

Let’s not be monkey’s

Sort:  

This is a win-win-win idea @gavvet. Having spent some time reading the whitepaper, I am impressed by the number of game-theory-inspired incentives designed to drive the creation and curation of high-value content. The problem, as you have identified it, is that new good content will simply go unnoticed - a problem that will just get worse as the platform grows.

Your (albeit personal) solution goes some way to rectify the problem, and moves the reward to long-term growth from short-term greed. Game-theory-wise, this moves towards optimising the position of all the actors:

  1. You are able to post quality content without having to write it yourself - content that will be noticed and rewarded. More quality content: WIN
  2. You receive a steem power reward that allows your stake to build. Build long-term stake: WIN
  3. The struggling author gets rewarded and instead of being lost in disillutionment, he/she now becomes a productive asset to the community: grow the community with quality producers: WIN.

More stength to your arm!

#2.1 with larger stake my click can reward even more authors more: WIN

Everybody wins!!! I like those types of equations and all it takes is letting go of the seeds...

Also there are so many strategies to experiment with on this platform... I find great entertainment/gamification value in that as well.

Your experiment is working very well

Yup, $591 to my first author...

HAHAHAHA I CANNOT BELIEVE MONKEYS ACTUALLY DO THAT!!!

Greed is a killer. I hope that steemit stays around and we find ways to balance the greed. A lot of people are also desparate, living a destitute life and hoping for a way out. Let's help them too. It was very honorable of you to think about posting less often.

how do you get a following of bots btw???

Thank you for posting. Hope you get ever more to snowball to the top!
I up-voted you too... BTW, should steemit let us steemers advertise using steem? Be sure to tell everyone you know to come vote here at: https://steemit.com/steemit/@kingtylervvs/if-steemit-ever-does-decide-to-advertise-there-is-only-1-way-it-could-work-in-my-opinion-debate

This is a democratic community decision.


Upvote the #steemengine for in house steemit poster ads!

Should do Oceania next lol It's sad looking at that graph :P

That is the plan

Oh cool i didn't think you would say that to be honest, better start my writing lol.

I hope I make many money! Thus I write a gold posts..!

Hi, I don't think this will have the effect you intend.

As you showed, there aren't a lot of users from Africa and Asia.

By promoting the few from Africa and Asia you're simply distributing wealth, which is great in my opinion!

But I doubt this will increase following whatsoever. Why would a sub-Saharan African who now earns more than the local doctors and lawyers, want his earnings to be debased by a flurry of other Africans who will attract the same sympathy/attention?

It would go against his rational self interest. And my experience in sub-Saharan Africa shows that Africans are pretty shrewd when it comes to self interest. I would think principally because there are so many scams (due to low opportunities, largely a result of poor government policy).

You'll just be creating the nouveau riche. Like the early youtubers.

Except that purchasing power is

far larger

in sub-Saharan Africa.

I have a bit more faith in my fellow continent members... time will tell.

Awesome post. Great to see fellow (South?) Africans on Steemit! :)

That is correct

The win-win idea is perfect..i vote and comment your post so you make money and i make visibility of myself for commenting and future posts

I feel that the only hard part is figuring out what to write about :)

True... but once you find your audience it gets easier

now can you teach me how to catch a girl?

Be worth catching :)

Monkey catching was an interesting story!
About the greed, it is very true. I also have the symptoms! :) I try to fight against it.

A shower thought, from this morning.

It's true @gavvet. Bottom line is that people will come here with hopes and then give it their best shot. If they find that they're only making cents (or nothing) per post then they'll just give up and add it to the pile of failures.
Rewarding lots of people with at least something worth having (a few bucks) should be the goal of the Whales and Dolphins - as long as the quality is there.
Otherwise this platform will never fulfil its promise.

That's exactly my perception of the sentiment at the moment.

Sounds like a great plan :)

It seems to be working so far... 3 authors will be getting rewards in the next couple of hour they would otherwise not have seen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43