Decent Parents Don't Spank their Children for Disobedience

in #authority6 years ago


Intelligent and decent parents don't hit or "discipline" their children for disobeying authority. They don't justify the system by spanking their children. They recognize hitting is assault, but they recognize much more. These parents understand the system is broken; they know they can't expect their children to merely fall in line.

These parents want to raise strong children who think independently. They want their children to be leaders, not components in an instrument. They don't want their children to simply fall in line and succumb to silly orders. The notion of being "well adjusted" and "fitting in" is malarkey. As Jiddu Krishnamurti said, "It's no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society."

Times are changing.

Many parents are learning about the limitations of the system. They are understanding the idea that forcing children to comply harms them; but the very idea of forcing them to comply also flies in the face of reason. Children want to be free to roam, learn, laugh, and live of their own volition. Trying to stuff them into a box of utter sameness is degrading and unnatural. In reality, children want to buck the status quo. It is part of their creative nature — part of their humanness.

What's happened to most parents is their creative energy has been stifled or ablated, and that is why they resort to hitting their children. It's also why they erroneously believe children must obey at every turn. Their own creative drive to cooperate with children for the purpose of creating leaders and thinkers has been destroyed.

For how can a parent who was taught to obey authority, do anything other than teach their children the same violent and disgusting parenting methodology?


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://sterlinlujan.com/2019/03/09/decent-parents-dont-spank-their-children-for-disobedience/

Sort:  

Because I read Alice Miller's book "For your own Good: Hidden Roots of Cruely in Child Rearing Practices" - I tried very hard to raise my sons without ever using physical coercion. I was pressured very hard with my first son into using corporal discipline with him a few times. Something I will always regret... But because of the support I got from my husband while raising my second son... we supported each other's choice to refrain from any kind of violence with him and he's just the coolest little guy. It's a myth that you need to use violence to discipline a child. It's just lazy parenting or ignorant parenting. I strongly urge people to check out the work of Dr.Alice Miller on this subject... She makes a very compelling case for why ALL forms of violence against children is wrong. I also found NOTHING in her philosophy of child rearing that contradicted Libertarian ideals and principles. Can't recommend her stuff more highly.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Interesting piece. Never being hit by my parents, which now resulted in never hit my children. Of course there are times you have difficulties with kids not obeying. But still a parent needs to be patient even in hard times, and try to resolve the issue in an alternative way.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @sterlinluxan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Great to see you using Steem Sterlin! :)

I was brutalized as a kid, so, I grew up wanting better for my children. It is hard to ignore the patterns that you grew up in, especially, if you made it out with some measure of sanity. You think, "well I turned out ok", but you really have to remember how it felt at the wrong end of the belt, stick, hand and remember the terror you felt, then it is easy to not hit them.
It still effs me up sometimes still because I see my children as a blessing and a resource for the future and I don't think my parents saw me that way. They were wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70