The World Body Painting Festival - my entry to the "Austrian Art and Culture CHALLENGE"

in #austrianac-challenge6 years ago (edited)

The lovely @martinamartini tagged me to join her challenge / contest Austrian Art and Culture and tell you about an artistic or cultural aspect that I love here in Austria.

Well, there are a lot of wonderful things happening in this country in the art scene, but I would like to tell you about what brought me to this country for the first time: The World Bodypainting Festival.

Not many know this fact, but Austria is like the Mecca of bodypainting. Every summer, the biggest event in the field is happening in Carinthia, a beautiful, fairytale-like region in the south of Austria, full of lakes and green nature.
For 1 week a year, the town chosen becomes a crazy art village, filled with painters, models & photographers from all over the world, usually walking around covered in paint & glitters :D


Above photos, from the official World Bodypainting Festival Facebook page

The festival, which celebrated it's 20th anniversary last year, includes workshops in all related fields (bodypainting, special effects make up, creative makeup, headpieces & props, photography, modeling etc.), side events like the zombie walk, the Body Circus (which is the craziest party you'll ever be in), exhibitions, 3 days of the world awards competitions & shows and the traditional closing paint party. It's basically a massive, non-stop, colourful party for 7 days :D


My first time there was in 2006 and I've been going there almost every year since. In 2009, when I decided to leave Israel and try my luck abroad, I simply took the train to Vienna straight from the festival and then decided to stay here ^_^



I have experienced so much in this festival and grew so much as an artist thanks to it.
I began as a student there, taking workshops with the best international artists in the field of bodypainting (including @bella-volen-art , who I first knew as my teacher, then turned to be my good friend for life :) ), then I started competing and later on as I grew there, I was already teaching myself.
One of my personal highlights at the festival, was when I got to perform there with my performance group "The Alternative Paint Cabaret", back in 2011, as a part of the Body Art Fashion show.

I brought a whole crew there- musicians, singers, my flying ballerinas (and me, doing what I do best, which is getting dirty :P ).
As usual in our shows, I built the whole concept, made all of the costumes, created the choreography and together with my good friend Lital Naveh Greizas, painted everyone on that day.

But I guess I'll tell you more about TAPC another time, back to talking about the festival-

It is the most incredible place for an artist to learn and grow, but more than anything- the bodypainting festival is a home, the people there are a family. I have experienced so much through the years with these wonderful artists I got to know there! And this is our chance to see each other again, at least that one time a year.

1044555_10151466472781401_1315399699_n.jpg

12592410_10156460287740704_2256740688367225010_n.jpg

The upcoming festival of 2018 will be a huge highlight for me, as I will have the official launch of my book "DreamLand" there, together with my solo exhibition. And I am so freaking excited!!!

presentation.png

From the official WBF program

So mark down on your schedules, 9th of July, 19:30! :D

If you've never got to experience the madness of that event before, I highly recommend making the trip to Austria for it, it will be an art experience you will never forget :)


I tag my bodypainter partner in crime @bella-volen-art to join the challenge if she wishes.

And together with me, @martinamartini tagged also @jnmarteau and I'm looking forward to read his post! I still didn't get to know him well, as usually on our #steemit-austria meetups he is mainly behind the camera, capturing all of us :D But I hope next time we will get a chance to talk, as I'm looking forward to hearing about his @globalschool project!


steemit_banner.jpg



Join our @steemartists community steemartistsS.png on Discord!

Sort:  

Thanks for the info. Sounds like something worth visiting. Will check it! My last trip to Vienna revealed to me that Austria and Austrians are expert in the arts of design.

Oh you definitly should, you would love it!!!
Austria is sure known for it's classical and modern art and for a very good reason :)

Thank you, my dear, sure I will do so;)

Oh, what a great, amazing, moving, just perfect article! I feel honored that you join my challenge, and your beautiful essay is an honor for the challenge itself! I can read it over and over!

And of course you are touching my Carinthian soul and bring up sweet memories of my time as a "Lady of Harley" and your durely know that bodypainting and airbrush are very close to the motor bier scenery... Memories all over... But I haven't been at the World Body Painting Festival yet.

The tag #steemartists would have also been an option...

Only yesterday I read something about your health issues and I feel so sorry about that. Nevertheless you wrote this impressing post... and always keeping in mind other Sreemians and mentioning them.

Thank you! Please, don't forget, not the upvotes on your post will count for the competition but, according to the rules, upvotes beneath your link-post wirthin the challenge article week #2!! Here the link https://steemit.com/austrianac-challenge/@martinamartini/austrian-art-and-culture-challenge-week-2-general-information-and-rules

Take care and good luck!

Oh, thank you so much dear, I'm so happy you enjoyed it and that it brought so much!
I hope you could make it to the festival this year, you will enjoy every second of it, I'm sure!!!
By the way, my friend Chris OBSN, who is painting bikes for a living, is also an important part of the bodypainting family ^_^ Maybe you know eachother?

I totally forgot to put it on the world map, thanks for reminding me! :D

And I'm doing well, thank you for your concern <3

Hugs!

:) I'll try to be there. May<be I know your friend from his works...!
Close to my home (and close to the festival) is the Austrian Airbrush Academy: http://www.austrian-airbrush-academy.at/ I have visited it and know some of the artists.

One more matter worrying me: Your post doesn't show a thumbnail picture. I really cannot understand with so many photographs attached to your article. Does it show on your computer?

Oh yes, Ernst Wieser is a regular judge at the festival :)

I know, it doesn't show a thumbnail and I have no clue why!! It's already the second time it's happening to me :(

Maybe it helps to put another pic on top?

last time I tried it, but for no good :/

Maybe one of our Steemit-Austrian-"Gurus" can help?

Maybe.. I'll try asking ;)

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Oh wow, I am so honoured, thank you! <3

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=shlomit
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-world-body-painting-festival-my-entry-to-the-austrian-art-and-culture-challenge


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45