TOOT- The Australian Blue Tongue Lizard

in #australia8 years ago

A couple of days ago @bkkshadow posted about The Eastern Blue Tongue Lizard , reading it reminded me of a short video I took when I rescued one out of my mothers swimming pool earlier this year. In fact I had to rescue 2 (or the same one twice) in a week, it had fallen into the pool and had puffed itself up to float but obviously couldn't climb out on its own. I converted the video into GIF to show here.

In the 15 year my parents owned the house we've never had another one fall in. A couple of snakes, legless lizards and frogs but no Blue tongue lizards. So I hope they don't start making a habit of it.

The Blue Tongue Lizard is getting quite rare in the area where we live, too many houses and roads been built in the last 20 years. What was bush when I was a child is now housing estates. Fortunately we do have a lot of national parks in my area so I hope many of the animals have a safe place to live.

https://twitter.com/steve_somers

This post is tagged as #TOOT - def: a short blast of a steam whistle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33