I'm Scott Weston from Australia

in #australia6 years ago

Hi, I'm Scott Weston. Right off the bat I should point out I'm INTP so this "posting about myself" thing is a bit uncomfortable but I can see it's important on Steem so here goes.

Me in my Tesla

Steem

I can't remember exactly how I got onto Steem. I've been going down the crypto-rabbit-hole for 6 months and started reading every whitepaper I came across. When I read that Steem uses Proof of Brain it instantly grabbed my attention and I've not been able to stop thinking about that since. I've spent some time in the "belly of the beast" (working at Google for 5 years) and have since leaving become more and more disheartened with the direction that the Internet is heading— it feels like Steem could be part of the solution.

I plan to post things to Steem from all facets of my life that I think others may find interesting including some or none of the following topics: Tesla, Space X, Home Automation, Renewable Energy, Coworking, Startups, Electronics and 3D printing.

Life

I live in Ballarat, Australia. As you may have seen from my selfie above I drive a Tesla Model S which I enjoy immensely. My house also has a Tesla Powerwall 2 battery and a 6.5kWh solar system. My car literally runs on sunlight harvested from my own roof (which still makes me feel good every time I think about it). My hope is that electric cars, house batteries and solar panels will soon be just the norm but until then I'm happy to be an early adopter if it helps achieve that.

I'm currently the President of the Ballarat Hackerspace which operates a small hackerspace for the Ballarat area. I am currently thinking of ways where Steem could be used by the hackerspace and our members, a lot of the work done in the hackerspace is creative and requires the use of brains - so it seems a natural fit. If you want to be part of that experiment you might want to follow @hackerspace.

In my "day job" I'm a SysAdmin/DevOps but I enjoy more tinkering with home automation and startup ideas and so I spend a couple days a week doing exactly that while working out of the Lab 79 coworking space in Ballarat.

I also enjoy throwing a Frisbee for my dog and listening to Bon Iver.

Thank you!

Thank you for reading my #introduceyourself post. I will definitely read all your comments and answer any questions as best I can.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, appreciate you using solar powered car. that will inspire many others. Hope you have a great time here on steemit. Good luck

Thanks! I think Steem is a bit like my Tesla, it's an amazing bit of tech available today that'll make our lives better in the future, it just needs early adopters :)

Warm Welcome to the steemit community hope you learn and enjoy from here I follow you and upvote you hoppe you also do same for me

Thanks. I certainly will.

Thank you dear @scottweston stay happy and live long life

Welcome to STEEM @scottweston. Come and check in to #teamaustralia on Discord when you get a chance!

I've been slowly sorting that out :) I think I'm all set up now and am @srw on the Discord, will hopefully get to the Melbourne meetup later this month too.

Hope you are having a great summer! It's been -20 C here in Minnesota, USA!

Welcome to STEEM. What an awesome combination of sun and solar panels for your Tesla. Can you run 100 pct solar or is it a combination? I imagine in Austrailia, you can put solar panels on the roof of your house as well. I hope this is the future! They are drilling in the Artic Wildlife Refuge in Alaska. People like you are taking the demand away from oil/gas which is great.

During the summer months (September to May) I can 100% cover my energy between the solar panels and the battery and even export a fair bit of excess power. I recently made a change to my panels that I hope will improve their yields during winter but I'll need to wait about 8 months to see if that pays off :) If not I might have to investigate putting some panels on to trackers.

Wellcome to the steem mate. Wish u all the best

Great intro post, and interesting background. Welcome to Steem , I am new here too and fascinated by its potential!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60632.95
ETH 3382.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51