Check out my well-manicured bush Down Under! (Mt Cootha)

in #australia8 years ago

After the response I got in my last post , it kinda seemed like steemit might like to see a litte bit more of the local bush ;)

So here are some more beautiful shots of my tour of Mount Cootha Botanical Gardens, Hope you enjoy!

This is my favourite shot of the lagoon that I've got, there were nicer ones on the camera. I will try and get access to these soon.

As this was my second time round as my camera died, I found all the lizards started coming out to sun themselves.

I really enjoyed walking around (even if my feet aren't so happy) the gardens are so well designed, the use of layers here creates depth and the use of colour and mixing of plants helped bring the separated plants back together.

I love how the water is so still you can see the perfect reflection of the trees on its surface.

The colour filtering through to the water is just stunning.

Being a Queenslander it is so nice to see such lush green grass, it's winter here at the moment but come summer and most grass ends up being killed by the heat.

The amazing view from the deck.

If you look in the background you can see the edge of the botanical gardens end, and the beginning of the bush land that surrounds Mount Cootha. We still have a lot of dense bushlands all around our suburbs, though it is becoming rarer as urban expansion continues to grow exponentially.

At the centre in the background there are a few large Australian Gum Trees, pretty much one of the most iconic Australian trees.

This big boy kept an eye on me the whole time and let me get really close nothing was getting in the way of his afternoon sunbake!

I love how the light filters through the red plants the colours are just stunning.

Here is the view of Brisbane City from the lookout at Mount Cootha it's only ten minutes drive away!

The city has changed and grown so much over my life, but I am proud that we have at least retained some of our natural wonders especially this close to our capitol city.

I love the color gradient on these flowers the photo doesn't do it justice but still so pretty.

Here are just a few shots of some Australian natives that look a bit interesting (sorry again for the quality of some)

I really love this tree and the fractal like nature of its branches, just so pretty.

I really hope you guys enjoyed these pictures, I had a great day and I got to see a part of my own city I hadn't seen before. I love that I can share these pictures on here for all of you, I hope you enjoyed getting to see Australia from a local's perspective.



Click here to read My Introduction post!

Sort:  

Nice bush

Thanks ;) good to see there's some bush appreciation on steemit!

Good old Mt Cootha!
I was raised in S-E QLD, Brisbane and surrounds were all I knew for the first 14 years of my life! Takes me back bro, cheers!

Glad you liked the pics :D I've lived in Brisbane for most of my adult life, I love it here.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.3 and reading ease of 79%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44