Usain Bolt retires...oh and by-the-way Justin Gatlin took gold

in #athletics7 years ago


usain-bolt.jpg

Missed opportunity

First off, I live a stone throw away from the London Olympic Stadium. I’ve been so in my own zone at the moment that I completely missed the fact that the World Athletics Championships is taking place there. Right on my doorstep! I missed the chance to pick up some tickets and watch some events.

This is despite the fact that my cousin works at the local Athletics club that I take two of my kids to every week. And despite the fact that one of my neighbours owns a restaurant at Westfield London and we often talk about what is happening in the Stadium as the footfall has a big impact on his business.

However... I've had a bigger occasion to mark this weekend, that I'll no doubt get to in a later post!

Memory Lane

I have real great memories of the London 2012 Olympics and going to the Olympics.

My eldest two were so young at the time but I felt it was important for them to experience such a momentous event. We had tickets to one of the Athletics sessions and a Swimming session. Although we were in the nosebleed seats for both events, the atmosphere was electric. They were two great days.


2012-07-28 10.14.09.jpg


2012-07-28 12.00.38.jpg


2012-09-03 09.31.33.jpg

I was so in the Olympic spirit, that I impulse bought a ticket to the last day of the Boxing. Anthony Joshua was fighting in the Gold Medal match. I was sat next to former long distance runner Peter Elloitt. I think he was chuffed that I recognised him. He asked me if I was a boxer! That made my day.

An aside, AJ - five years on

It was great being there for when Joshua won his gold. It’s made even sweeter now that Joshua has gone on to even bigger things. Like becoming the Heavyweight Champion of the World… and allegedly sleeping with the wife’s of Olympic silver medalists! (Sorry - Amir, it's not like I haven't warned about the dangers of men getting over-emotional on social media)


anthony-joshua.jpg

Participation award

One thing about being at massive sporting events, be it the Olympics or a big football match. As a spectator, the actual sporting activity is secondary to simply being there. As someone in the crowd, it’s actually the audience, fellow spectators that make the event. Whether it’s chanting with fellow supporters or making small talk to someone you’d never meet again next to you. That coming together to be part of history. You can always catch-up with the minutiae of who did what and when on a TV re-run. In fact, with all the different TV angles and replays, it is certainly easier to watch at home on TV. However being about to say how it felt to be there is something that cannot be matched.

Missed a Lightning Bolt

One reason I am upset with myself for not being aware of the 2017 World Championships being on my doorstep is that I missed the opportunity to watch a legend perform one last time.

Usain Bolt retires from athletics this year. More important than the stack of medals he has racked up is that he has almost single-handedly keep athletics relevant.

In my opinion, in Sport there are two individual accolades that stand head-and-shoulders above all others. One is to be the Heavyweight boxing champion of the world. The second to be the fastest person on the planet. They are two basic huan curiosities. And while other the past few years you could be forgiven for not knowing the heavyweight champ (hopefully Anthony Joshua can change that). Almost everyone that has an interest in Sport knows the charismatic man that is the fastest the planet has ever seen,

Usain Bolt.


Usain-Bolt-PNG-Transparent-Image-500x418.png

To be great at something is one thing. To dominate a sport for the best part of a decade, racking up every major gold medal is extraordinary.

However we’ve come to take for granted the super human feats of Usian Bolt.

So much so that when he was beaten this weekend in the final of the World Championship 100 meters, viewers at home and in the stadium were shocked. This is despite the fact that Bolt clearly isn’t the same runner he was in his prime. Also Athletics isn't scripted. It's a competitive sport. There are other protagonist. On their own journey which they hope will lead to greatest. The fact that we don't know the outcome beforehand is exactly what makes it compelling. Bolt lost. So there was not to be a pitcure-book ending to his extraordinary career.

Say hello to the bad guy

What made it more galling for the general public is that the winner was Justin Gatlin, who had twice been suspended from Athletics for doping infringements. Many have the view that Gatlin should have been banned from competing for life and Gatlin has become somewhat a pantomime villain for Athletics fans and pundits.


gatlin.jpg

It’s ironic. In many ways, the clean-cut, fun-loving, charmer that is Usain Bolt covered up the cracks in world Athletics. While Bolt has dazzled, the sport has continuously been rocked by doping scandals. Bolt has been a beacon for those that advocate that talent, hard-work and dedication, without shortcuts, can and should win through.

Bolt and his antics will be missed. However the footnote of a Gatlin win, is a timely reminder that athletics generally has a long way to go to step out of colossal shadow left by the great man.

Sort:  

fastest nibba alive

Bolt the great Usian, you will be missed. What an incredible athlete he was, how did Gatlin goy suspended twice for doping without a life ban? Football won't take that. You have a beautiful family down there @nanzo-scoop

Great post! You really get to the heart of the matter of what makes sports so magical for fans around the world. There is nothing like being there. Being a part of an event creates a memory that lasts a lifetime. The Pro Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony was this weekend and Jerry Jones, the owner of the Dallas Cowboys threw out a stat that is quite telling, only 7% of fans will ever see a game in person. That is mind boggling to me, but when you think about it, it's probably very accurate with all the sports. We all love to watch sports on the tv, but being able to be a part of the spectacle gives you an intimacy that lasts a lifetime.

It's was sad to see Usain Bolt lose, especially to Gatlin, but as always he handled himself with class. I agree that the heavyweight champ and the fastest man in the world hold special places on the mantel, and while boxing has seem to found the man in Joshua to carry the torch in the future, athletics has lost it's most recognizable and polarizing star. Usain Bolt inspired youth the world over with his dominance, smile and out going personality, hopefully one of those kids will emerge and give us a new legacy.

This is a good post indeed, upped. I think that bold is a great example for sportsmen and women to know when to retire..The greed of fame and money should not make someone active till his or her mide 50´s or mother nature will force the person to retire. Bold retired as the best and will be remembered as the best. Wow, love the beautiful picture of you and your family, make me want to come back to the UK and say hello..

Feel free to see my latest post about how I exposed @dan ´s secret plan to take over the world. More success to you.

Bolt will be truly missed... once in a lifetime athlete. :)

Well kudos to him as they say no champion for ever so i wouldn't say he ended his career with a flop. i celebrate him congrats to him also to gatlin

I am srill unable ro go to the olymoics myself but love sweing bolt runas well as rwmember mixhael ohels hair breath win gliding into the and of the pool and winning .alwaya learn somrthing new from the olymoics ans love hoe people come togrther from all over during this time

Upvoted. I'm going to resteem this now :)

I was at the 2012 Olympics with @cryptofunk- an amazing experience.
Bolt is a true winner, I watched a fascinating programme about him recently, i don't know if you saw it too?

No - haven't managed to watch much TV recently. Do you remember what channel it was on, I'll see if I can find it on catch-up.

'I Am Bolt' - it showed on Monday 21 July at 8.30pm on BBC1.

http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2017-07-28/what-time-is-the-i-am-bolt-documentary-on-tv

Cool - thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33