My wife Is Forcing Me To Get Rid Of My Video Games and Consoles Collection!!

in #atarijaguar6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180102_213159835.jpgMy wife i guess cannot appreciate the late 80's and 90's because she was to busy with her girlfriends standing in line to get new kids on the block autograph or whatever boy bands visited Vancouver. I have been collecting and selling video game/systems for a long time i guess this was my third favorite thing to do.

I have amassed an assortment of my favorite systems, they have accompanied me through high-school and college and i was under the impression that they would be part of my new home.
IMG_20180102_213218512.jpg

However my wife had some other plans, shes been telling me since we moved to our new home 6 years ago to get rid of them. Her reason for me getting rid of it was because i was not playing video games anymore. I tried to tell her that every year the games go up in value because it was now a collectors item.

This morning i came back to all my video games pulled out from the basement and was on display, my wife told me that she had taken pictures and placed and ad on letgo. She does have a point as much as i love these games i unfortunately suffer from time-poverty and therefore have no use for them.

If any video game enthusiast would like to add to their collection, i have:
1 xSega master-$60
1 x Nintendo game cube-$110
1 x Neo geo CDs $450
1 x Nintendo 64-$80
1 x Sega CD with games in box-$180
1 x Panasonic 3do-$100
3 x Nintendo NES- one has door missing-$125
1 x PS1 modded - $30
1 x PS2 in box- $30
1 x PS2 slim- $20
1 x Ps3-$70
2 x Sega Genesis 1 in box- $105
1 x Nintendo Wii body modded in box with led lights-$100
1 x Sega Dreamcast in box with all the burnt games-$100
1 x Atari Jaguar- $400
1 x Xbox-$30
1 x Xbox360-$60
1 x Turbo grafx 16-$140
1 x Famicom-$60
1 x Super Famicom-$75
1 x Colecovision Gemini-$40
1 x Atari 2600 jr rainbow console-$30
1 x Sega Genesis-$30
1 x Super Retron3-$40
I'll throw the all games in for $500.00
I do accepted any forms of currency..
IMG_20180102_215257599.jpg

Sort:  

Awww i would of bought it all to take with me on my trip to central america. Over there people's pass time is playing video games. Maybe next time.

YOU TELL YOUR WIFE THAT THIS IS YOUR PASSION AND SHE MUST RESPECT THAT😎
Put your foot down.
You have a wonderful collection. You would have to be a hald brain dead fool to get rid of it at this time.

yes indeed i agree, i am looking into a storage place..seeing that my garage is commandeered as a salon..

Happy wife, Happy life? :-)

Not too happy being with someone who doesn't accept you for who you are.

Been there. Not fun.

Now with a man who DOES accept me for who I am. MUCH better.

I feel for you man. I would've loved to buy it all if it wasn't for my girlfriend having the same encouragement to this as your wife, heh.

well let me know i got a month i figure to get rid of it..hehe

Thats pretty crazy. Hope your video games go to a better place

yes indeed i hope that they find a true collect that knows their worth..

My childhood is laying on your floor. Great memories!

yes its a pitty to see it go

I really hope you don't sell them.

It's not a reasonable request on her part, and from what you're saying, it doesn't even seem to be a request.

Wow, I wouldn't get rid of any of my games for anything. My wife and I love our collection! I will however buy some snes games if you have some that I don't have in my collection.

Dude, that is a tough choice......

image

Wow, you have a lot! Well, getting rid of them can get you some nice crypto currencies though.. So, not a bad trade then? ;-)

indeed i agree

So force your wife to accompany you to see "Ready Player One" when it opens in March, and then maybe she'll realize that, just perhaps, she could REALLY be throwing away some serious money by forcing you to get rid of your classic video game collection.

Seriously, as one who has gone through this, I would have a deep heart-to-heart talk with her about respecting you and your property, since this is a part of your history, which she has NO right to destroy or disallow.

My former spouse forced me - literally forced me - to get rid of my dad's collection of over 4,000 first-press jazz 78s from the 1930s and 1940s, not to mention dozens of 33 rpm LPs, most of which were in near mint condition. Many of them may quite literally have been the only copies left in existence.

To a music school, a jazz musician, or a really serious collector, they could have been worth many thousands of dollars.

Some people just have no respect.

The only reason I finally agreed, is that I gave them to a friend of his who had an amazing collection of music, and musical instruments and technology, like half a dozen Victrolas as just one example, and he promised to keep it all together as a collection.

But I never forgot it, and frankly, it played a significant role in why he is now my EX-spouse.

Perhaps that might get her attention.

What very unfortunate that you have to put all those beautiful games/consoles away!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58633.15
ETH 3210.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31