Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest Week 1: Kansas City Urban Commercial Space’s Abandoned Basement (with the slight appearance of a torture chamber)

5E2E30F8-AB06-4CF2-915B-7D4AFE917AB8.jpeg



This is my entry for @customnature’s inaugural Abandoned Shit Weekly contest. I took this photo in the basement of a very modern urban commercial space in Midtown Kansas City, Missouri, and I really wish I had more light with me on this day to capture a full panorama, because this basement was very odd...looked almost like an altar of sort...has that little window to nowhere...and behind me was a small, circular, raised surface and water pooled on the floor around us. Even though the top floor(s) of the building are being utilized in a modern context, this “basement” has definitely been abandoned, and I felt the weirdest of vibes when I was down there taking a “Jeff” Session. Not necessarily the good vibes I was looking for in that moment, if you catch my drift.

I don’t normally feel like I’m standing where someone perhaps died or had some kind of ritualistic punishment inflicted upon them...but I did standing in this room.



@customnature has put together a new contest called Abandoned Shit Weekly, and if you’re as much of fan of abandoned shit as I am, this sounds like it’s going to be a great contest. Plus, there’s a 35 SBD pool of prizes, too!


CE31ACBF-B036-4193-A69D-A35C97381DEF.jpeg

@customnature’s header logo for the contest announcement post. Read the post and contest details here.


Via @customnature:

I love coming across places where nature is reclaiming works of man. Abandoned houses, buildings, vehicles, parks, zoo, etc. Maybe its because in those moments, it seems like a rare instance where nature is winning. Also, I feel like a lot of people have a fascination with abandoned places. There's a whole "urban exploration" genre of youtube videos that feature exactly this. I'm aiming to get a little more of this stuff into the Steemit world.


I’ve already thought of a few places I’ll be hitting up in the next few days, as this contest has me very inspired. Thanks for the opportunity and I look forward to more photographic niche community buildingn and inspiration through such an endeavor, @customnature!



My photo entry this week was taken by me using an iPhone 6+ and edited lightly (also by me) in Adobe Photoshop Express for iPad.




4FB8D09C-97FA-4B4B-AEC6-9CEB3E7883CA.jpeg
Sunshine on my shoulders almost always makes me high. —John Denver




Sort:  

Wow... super creepy! But I love abandoned stuff and always think about what went on in the past in those places. In fact one of my favorite shows is about abandoned places and why they were abandoned. I love looking into the history of places like this. Maybe it was a bar during the prohibition times or a place for people to hide on the underground railroad! ;) So cool!

Yes! It was creepy, indeed...I just wish I knew what the room had been used for before it was abandoned. Seriously, I’ve never seen a room like that. The photo only shows one angle, but as I mentioned in the article, behind me was this random semi-circular altar-like raised section in the corner...and then that room that’s in the photograph completely got me in the creepy feels. Like, what the fuck is that little window? Was this a boiler room or something? That window goes to nothing. So odd.

Right!? Dude, I watch Mysteries of the Abandoned on the Science Channel and Secrets of the Underground (which is on either the science or travel channel) and they show some shit like this. When they go through old records to find out what it was for, sometimes the answers are super creepy... And that's probably only half the story.

To think of the stories these places have to tell. Totally amazing.
Oh my gosh, this has me inspired to go check a few places out!

I was inspired, as well! I’m really excited to do some exploring! :)

I love when the basements of modern places look like THIS. Its like the creepy underbelly that's going on right under our feet. What a neat place. It almost looks like it has dirt floors!

I’d been in this building 5 or 6 times before I even knew it had a basement...and when we walked down there the first time, I was so blown away.

the creepy underbelly that’s going on right under our feet

Indeed!

Thank you for having the idea for and hosting this contest. I like it, and I really think others will as well.

there are many contest post i am receiving.. but none was looking at my post.

there is one page named @photoscontests.
i dono on what basis they are selecting the winners.

what if i wish to participate in any of the steem contest.

your post should clearly explains that.. thanks..

If you are interested in photo contests, I highly recommend following @jasonrussell, as he hosts a couple of different contests, and is very plugged in to all the photography communities on Steemit.

Also, I linked details to @customnature’s contest throughout my post. :)

Another great photog to follow for contests and stuff related to photography would be @jamtaylor, as well.

Also, every contest will have its own specific set of rules, so just make sure you read all of the instructions before you enter.

...weird...but, cool...
...what do you mean by 'Jeff' sessions?...

Think about it in regard to current US politics and then put it into a situational regard in an ironic sense...

Ahhh!!....I had to refresh my memory via Google...I don't really watch t.v....especially news...

...good one... 80)

It's crazy to think I never saw a basement until I was like 16 years old. Living in South Florida at such low sea level no ones has a basement it wasnt until I went to Colorado I saw them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75