The Black Castle

in #aswcontest6 years ago (edited)

TheBlackCastle2.jpg

Spooky outlook over a very old graveyard at an abandoned medieval Augustinian Prior’s Tower (middle of the frame), known as Black Castle, that was built in 1210. The newer medieval tower house, or belfry tower, to the right of frame dates from 1525 and is sometimes referred to as the White Castle. In front of the belfry tower is the abandoned remains of the ‘Lady's Chapel’. A Lady chapel or lady chapel is a traditional British term for a Christian chapel dedicated to ‘Our Lady’, the Blessed Virgin Mary. Inistioge, County Kilkenny, Ireland.

I immediately thought of this shot when @customnature announced his theme for this weeks Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest as graveyards !

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

Sort:  

Yes, that is very scary, indeed! Goodness - I would not want to be anywhere near there after dark, especially. Think you might have a winner here. I certainly vote for it! Good work

Thanks ; appreciate the support !

Oh wow! that is so nice! I saw once an old graveyard in Jersey channel island, Lily Langtry was buried there, they also had like them spooky graves some where so fallen in that you actually could look in the coffin ! Stunning spooky picture! thx for sharing.

Its always fun to explore them !

wow it looks really dreadful and dramatic...But if there was some black clouds in the air it would look more dreadful and dramatic....Anyway it is really beautiful picture and the structure is an old building...I like historical building my friend...

Thank you for sahring this beautiful picture with us and have a nice day ...

Colours are amazing!

Wow such a beautiful church, definitely a little eerie!

Thanks ! A lot of old buildings in Ireland are like that and were abandoned when Cromwell invaded.

I've been to Ireland a few times, never been that keen on it really, I don't know why! But so much history!

Wow, @intrepidphotos This is a gorgeous photo - I love the small splashes of yellow against that deep gray sky - grays and yellows. Nice.

How good are old castles. One thing I miss about living in the UK.

They are so so good.

Edinburgh had some great ones. I really enjoyed just being able to wonder around without it feeling like a museum with roped off areas and restorations.

Sounds like a steemit post in the making ;-)

Spooky indeed!
The local histogram equalization really fits this one, good job

Thanks. It has a more compressed dynamic range and additional micro contrast than I would normally edit my shots with but I think it works with the look of the old abandoned castle.

Yes, I love the effects you created! I don't know the technical terms but to me it looks like the signs of aging are made to stand out and there is a lot of texture.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by intrepidphotos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66330.08
ETH 3331.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70