The Abandoned Washing Mashine

in #aswcontest6 years ago

@customnature is running the Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest and this week's there is Water! Your photo of an abandoned subject must SOMEHOW be related to water. Read more about the contest HERE.

This is again a tough one because (I have to realize) I live in a city where you can't really see abandoned things. This is good for the city and bad for me when it comes to this contest. But don't worry, I take photos wherever I go, so I always have something, even if I don't win.

Today I want to show you something from the past. Yes, what you see here is something women used to wash clothes with in the past. I can't tell you exactly when but my best guess is the 18th century or so.

IMG_20160729_135123a.jpg

As you can see, the water is coming from above and it's power makes the clothes to rotate and the whirlpool effect practically cleaned the clothes. This is not in use any more (obviously) and there are a few pieces missing.

IMG_20160729_135105a.jpg

I'm not going to lie, I found this at the Astra museum in Sibiu. If abandoned means not in use any more, this qualifies because it's not in use any more. If not, that' ok, at least I was able to show you something I bet many of you haven't seen before. Let @customnature be the judge of that :)

And finally a question for those of you who had the patience to read my post: have you ever seen such a washing machine? :))

Sort:  

Ooh! Never seem something like this before! Really cool!

Thanks you my dear TeamOuch friend 😉

This TeamOuch member is resting its knee today 😅 its getting better. I can walk a little bit more now. Ligaments take too long to recover 😓

Oh God woman! What did you do? How could you hurt yourself so badly!? 😕😟

I screwed my knee last december while doing my fitness routine. It seems I already had my knee hurt for all the heavy things I had to hold and move during the months I spent without water/electricity after the hurricanes. Im always on the go, thats why its taking so long to recover. Now is less bloated and it only hurts sometimes so my best guess is that is getting better 😅

Let's hope so!

Honestly I have not seen anything like that. It is amazing to see how people in the past have done their chores.

Well, those were hard times.

Yes it's Abandoned :D

That is so cool what a ingenious idea and no odors added at that time but you would get the fragrance of the woods which would of been more re-refreshing :)

I don't think the clothes would get the fragrance of the world because that wood being in the water constantly, would lose it's fragrance.
Those clothes would definitely have a fresh smell.

Haha😄 I thought you were just joking about the washing machine when i read the title!
This actually does look like something people used to wash their clothes! Pretty cool🤗 thanks for sharing @erikah!

I'm funny but wasn't joking, I was dead serious 😁
I'm glad you like my washing machine! 😉

How interesting! Very smart too... I wish they didn't abandon it and kept it going...

Thank you, fortunately there are modern ones :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79