WINNERS! Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest, №.8 - "On Assignment"

in #aswcontest6 years ago (edited)

Dukes and Duchesses of the Deserted!
ASWassignmentWinner00a.jpg

The Theme:

This week's theme was = ON ASSIGNMENT! The photos must include a piece of paper with "aswcontest" and the date.

My Thoughts:
I'm so happy with this week's Abandoned Shit Weekly contest! Being that they had to be new/fresh pictures specifically for THIS contest, I wasn't expecting many entires. I was wrong! Lost of entries came in from all around the world. Somewhere around 120 entires, I believe. I loved seeing participation from all different countries and cultures. You guys fucking rock!
As always, this was a difficult one to judge. It's hard to pick just a few winners when there's so much great content to choose from. My decisions were made by picking which abandoned things I would love to see and photograph. Now then, lets get to the winners...

The results:

1st Place Winner - 15SBD: @james-09aka

This old, dilapidated jet fighter by @james-09aka really intrigued me. Aside from nature and abandoned stuff, I'm also a bit of a history/military history buff. It appears this one was from around the Vietnam War era. It looks like it may have been on display in the public, but picked apart or scavenged over the years. Thank for for sharing!
From the author: "An aircraft of India, number E208
it is believed that aircraft is from 1960s, and full details about this aircraft is still unkwown"

ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@james-09aka/aircraft-of-india-new-theme-abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-8-on-assignment


2nd Place Winner - 10SBD: @otage

This old pier from @otage was a tie for 1st place. I literally flipped a coin. I love the pier made with old wooden timbers and bolts. It was an abandoned structure from yesteryear sitting in the shadows of the ultra modern New York City skyline in the background.
From the author: "I shot this photo today of abandoned piers in Liberty Park. It was a little brisk out but still a beautiful sunny day. These piers were used for connecting train passengers to ferries that went into lower Manhattan. The train terminal was closed in 1967 and ferry service was moved to other locations."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@otage/abandoned-piers-aswcontest


3rd Place Winner - 5SBD: @mouthofthecreek

This tunnel submission by @mouthofthecreek is awesome. Be sure to check out the actual entry link just below as there are a lot more and better photos. A difficult feat of engineering to be left abandoned.
From the author: "I wasn't able to find much information on the history of this old tunnel. From what I could gather it was finished in 1947, and sealed off in 1958. That doesn't seen like a very long life for such a huge endeavor."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@mouthofthecreek/asw-contest-8-on-location-at-the-old-pine-mountain-rail-tunnel


Honorable Mentions - 1 SBD each - In no particular order:

@fivealive55

"This morning I went to the Marin Headlands and took photos of abandoned military bunkers near the Bonita Lighthouse for this contest. There are a lot of abandoned military structures on the Marin Headlands from many different time periods. These are some of the oldest bunkers in the area."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@fivealive55/asw-contest-week-8-on-assignment

@ablaire

"I searched for abandoned things in my neighborhood and found this funny little thing. It's an abandoned toilet with a tall papaya plant growing out of it. This was found in my neighbor's backyard."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@ablaire/abandoned-toilet-aswcontest-entry

@rubygoat

My hometown used to be a booming city full of life. It used to have a greyhound bus station and restaurants and a movie theatre.
"In my hometown, at one of the main streets, there is an abandoned villa in the classicist style. In the mid-1990s, the seat of the agricultural coffers was located there. In the following years the building was abandoned and is in a worse technical condition."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@rubygoat/old-theatre-semi-old-town

@samycfc

"As you can see is a car burned to the chassis, use it for the contest because it fits perfectly with the theme of the week. Literally I found this shit abandoned while driving my motorcycle through one of the main avenues of Caracas, the capital of my country Venezuela."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@samycfc/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-8-caramax-fury-road

@edward.maesen

"I went back to the Box Canyon trail just outside Mount Shasta; an interesting location with a small car graveyard. Cars were dropped into this canyon somewhere in the mid of last century, and the location has since then be overtaken by nature, overgrown with trees."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@edward.maesen/decay-photography-entry-for-aswcontest-8-with-theme-on-assignment

@jackdogho

"The pics seen below is a pics of an abandoned Student Auditorium. It's been abandoned for more than four years and even before I joined Delta State Polytechnic Otefe"
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@jackdogho/my-entry-to-the-asw-contest-no-8


FINAL THOUGHTS
This week was great. Seeing so many people willing to actively participate in the contest, especially when it's still just a few weeks old, is a fantastic sign for the weeks and months ahead. We will definitely do more of these "on assignment" themes for the contest. Great work, everyone! I'll be dispensing rewards to the winners in a few hours.

Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - №. 9 will be announced tomorrow (Tuesday) and look for the official contest post to see what the week's theme will be! I'm so excited and I hope you all join in, as I think the next theme is a big one that's been rather anticipated!

FollowBanner.jpg

Sort:  

Congrats to the winners and thanks for the Honorable Mention :)

Nice work! As usual.

Eagerly waiting for the next one ☺

hi @customenature !! I am new here. glad to see your contests. i wanna join next contest.

I hope you do! The next contest will be posted in an hour or two. :)

Congratulations to the winners! Looking forward to seeing the next assignment!

I'll be posting the next contest in just a bit!

Thank you for letting me know!

I don't know what is better: The constest name "Abandoned Shit" or the photos.
Awesome stuff

lol I decided to be very direct with the concept of the contest.

Ya! Will there be another "abandoned shit"? I'll make sure to cary with me a paper and pen on my bike rides, that way when I spot something I can take a pic.

We will do another one if these "on assignment" ones again, but it probably won't be for a few weeks. I like to mix it up.

gotcha! I'm following you to stay tunned. I like the challenge and the idea of posting with the paper. That means I need to hunt fresh photos.

I really liked this one! The fact they were all recent adds a little something extra. Its kinda like we get to come along on people's adventures all over the world. And share in their good finds!

I liked this one a lot too. I definitely felt much more engaging than any of the others, so far. We'll definitely do more of these 'on assignment' ones.

Congratulations to all the winners, for sure I wouldn't miss participating in this week's contest. Anticipating the theme

There will be some cool things posted to steemit next week, I think! :)

These are quite old stuffs

It's really nice participating in this contest,,,looking forward for more interesting ones
Thanks @customnuture

Thanks for joining! Your bus entry was great, there were just so much to choose from!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62