Steemit Exclusive: Massive Dark Planet Found Near Polaris - Visible with Naked Eye

in #astronomy7 years ago (edited)

There is a massive dark planet that is visible with the naked eye located in front of Polaris. I was able to finally photograph it a few nights ago and have provided pictures with examples of how to see it. The second picture is only an example. I placed a black circle showing where to look for the object. I suggest opening each image in separate tabs and then tabbing between them (with ctrl + tab). You will see the object much clearer if you do it this way instead of comparing side by side. Pictures were taken with a 10 second exposure. Reasons you can't see it on other images on the web is they use far too long of an exposure time (2 mins is fairly common) which washes out all the detail and only displays a "white ball". Don't trust me or these pictures on this. Go outside and look at the stars. You can see it with your own eyes!

IMG_0703.JPG

polaris 703.jpg

Sort:  

Someone promoted your post. Promotions help every steemians.
Your reward is an upvote and 0.251 SBD extra promotion.
Good job, see you next time in Promoted! ;)

Wow! I am an astrologer (also interested in astronomy) and I watch the skies often. I don't know all of the constellations and the sky map but I can find a few things. This is pretty cool! How did you first find it or notice it? Ps. I am also in Colorado.

I cant find it in the image :)

Its in the second (bottom) image. The black spot in front of the brightest star in the picture.

Oh there you go. I was watching on my phone at first now its clear on pc.

Hang on, I ran it through a high pass filter... You can see another to the left now? What the heck

Congratulations @peacephilpanda! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @peacephilpanda! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60857.34
ETH 2383.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68