You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Re-evaluating the Star of Bethlehem, Part 3: "For we have seen his star in the east and have come to worship him." (featuring @vuyusile as author)

in #astronomy8 years ago

The knowledge of the ancient people has been lost then found again then lost and so on . Civilization before us had great knowledge about universe , just looking with eyes . Today we have technology and we progress slightly compered with old ways . How is that possible ?

Sort:  

That is a profound question. In my response to @kyriacos I criticised intellectual chauvinism. I might be more precise and criticise modern intellectual chauvinism that regards the ancients as little more than neo-apes, far below us on the evolution chain. The more I learn about what they thought about and how they approached problems, the more I am impressed; and the more I realise how much of what we have is built upon their shoulders. thanks for your ongoing interest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51