Astrology for the Skeptical Occultist

in #astrology7 years ago

If you're an occultist, you've had to deal with astrology. For many occultists, modern astrology seems fanciful and ineffective. Yet it's in everything! Astrology has been a really key part of the Western Mystery Tradition since before we had a tradition, in fact. Two years ago, I shared some of my thoughts on astrology, but since then, I've changed my mind.

astrology-banner-small.png

There have been a lot of modern influences on the astrology you see most common today. It's heavily influenced by 20th century psychology. We also have modern innovations such as Sun Sign astrology (i.e. "Hey baby, what's your sign?"), and today pretty much everybody can tell you what their "sign" is. I'm a Scorpio! Sun sign astrology was invented in the 1890s.

Check out Ida C. Benedetto's great article, Astrology isn’t fake—it’s just been ruined by modern psychology for a quick introduction to what we've been discovering about classical, ancient astrology.

Today, modern psychology has cast astrology as a fantastical way that people of the past project the workings of their minds onto the environment around them. This interpretation leaves far too much wiggle room for astrology to simply sound like affirmations of what people want to hear about themselves and think about the world.

When you're ready to learn more about how classical astrology can be of real benefit to your magical and occult practices, start with Christopher Warnock's excellent Renaissance Astrology website. I really like this piece about using fixed stars to create talismans.

I'm still learning about classical and Renaissance astrology, but what I have learned has been intriguing and informative. It will help your practice! Give it a try.

Find me online!

Sort:  

Lovely introduction. I am excited to look into this classical astrology! I am just formulating a post on modern astrology right now.

I think many people only have a superficial view of astrology using sun signs, and it is really a shame, there is an incredible level of depth to be gained from astrology, and it is an art!

I agree. Modern astrology has a lot to offer with the rest of the planets and houses, too. Looking forward to your article!

Its all very interesting! I will probably post it in the morning as it is taking longer then I thought to research and stuff haha, since I am no pro yet.

Interesting! I'm very interested in modern-day astrology but would love to see you post your views and opinions :)

Honestly, I haven't really figured a whole lot of it out yet. But as I make progress, I'll share what I know. There are so many aspects to classical astrology that modern astrology ignores or has forgotten all about. Stay tuned and I'll write more about it!

I would suggest that classical astronomy (astrology) has become embedded in language. The alchemical and mathematical aspects have developed into physics and calculus, whilst the symbolism has infused various cultures, like masonry. ( alt account of pastbastard BTW)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @reverenderik to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ReverendErik from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45