Ask Steemit: What is a rare item you possess that you wouldn’t sell?

in #asksteemit6 years ago

Ask Steemit is a series I started last May following a post by @kevinwong where he quoted a suggestion from @jesta for Ask Reddit style posts on Steemit.

I wrote about getting a very rare Gold Legendary Steem Monsters card yesterday, and it made me think, is the thrill of getting something rare due to the feeling of beating the odds or due more to the value of that item?


The question for the Steemit community today is: What is a rare item you possess that you wouldn’t sell?

IMG_1617.PNG
Thanks to @epicdesigns for the Ask Steemit logo

Please include your answers in the comments below. I look forward to reading your responses.


If you have a Steem account created before 12 July 2018 with a reputation of at least 30, you can claim $5-$160 worth of Byteball tokens By downloading the Byteball wallet here, and following the instructions in this post.


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

This is an interesting question! I think my most valuable collector's possession might be a signed book by George R. R. Martin, the guy who is writing the A Song of Ice and Fire series, which has been adapted to the TV show Game of Thrones. I don't know the exact value, but apparently it's worth a nice chunk of money already, even though it's not that old.

Congratulations @nextgen622! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You have received a Steemmonsters upvote! This post has been upvoted by Steemmonsters Discord member, nextgen622.

Please find out more about Steemmonsters: https://steemmonsters.com/

For some weird reason and although i have more rare and valuable items the one i would never sell is my yu gi oh card collection! i have about 400-500, the majority of them is not even first generation and only around 100 have protected sleeves :P but i think combined with the memories i have with them i can't sell not even a single one

I used to have many items that “I would not sell”. I sold every one to come here to the Philippines and answer God’s call. There was a time where I would have said, “I will never sell this!”. I guess, never say never!

I did have a special knife that was my brother's. This brother passed away when we were both 29. But I gave the knife to his son. It is now the only thing son has, that was his dad’s.

I do have two paintings that my father painted years ago. They are in a family member’s house. I may never have them hang in my own house again, but technically they are still mine.

That’s such a great perspective to have. Thanks for sharing. I agree, there is no possession in this lifetime too valuable to give up in response to God’s call to follow Him. What you have done is all worth it, and you are seeing some of the fruit of your sacrifice now. Bless you brother.

Good question . I would say my rare book collection. Particularly a children's magazine from the 19th century.

Wow, that does sound like a very rare item. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83