You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AskSteemit: What was that Facebook suggestion that made you wonder "how did it know?"?

in #asksteemit6 years ago (edited)

When it started giving me massive amount of ads for cryptos and ICOs.. i have never been so spooked..

Sort:  

Yeah.. Reddit did the same to me based on what subreddits I used the most. :/

Yupp.. they know everything. How do we browse, what do we browse, what are our likes and dislikes, our peaking interest in something.

But its actually our fault, most of us never read Terms and Conditions prior to signing up and just tap “i agree” to move ahead. I am pretty sure that facebook T&Cs include a clause which says that facebook is authorised to access your browsing history, your phone mic, speaker, contacts, messages and right down to toilet paper brand you use..

Same with me, all my ads are about icos and mining companies. On Reddit, Facebook, YouTube, everywhere! at least I use ublock origins to block most of that cheap crap.

Everywhere I go online now Iget ICO ads. Most look scammy too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95